Honey Lime Chicken and White Bean Enchiladas

If there’s one thing you need to know about me, it’s that I love cheese.  I could eat cheese on/in just about anything.  It’s my favorite food, especially when it’s melted.  YUM!

So, it’s no wonder that I love enchiladas.  I’ve spent the past two years on a quest to find the best chicken enchiladas.  I try different recipes at least once a month.  My family doesn’t mind, mostly because they share my love of cheese, but also because they know better than to complain about my cooking.

The other night I had the insanely brilliant idea to take my favorite elements from all of the different recipes and combine them into one totally amazing chicken enchilada recipe.

Best. Idea. Ever!!!  The hubster said these were the best enchiladas he’s ever had.

Honey Lime Chicken and White Bean Enchiladas - Om Nomalicious

Don’t you just want to eat your computer screen right now??

Without further ado, I give you the best ever chicken enchilada recipe!

Honey Lime Chicken and White Bean Enchiladas

1 lb Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast
1 10oz Can Cannellini or Navy Beans
5 Tbsp Honey
2-3 Limes, or about 5 Tbsp Lime Juice
.5 Tbsp Chili Powder
.5 Tbsp Chipotle Powder
.5 Tbsp Cumin
1 tsp Garlic Powder
8 Flour Tortillas (I use the Mission Carb Balance Soft Taco Tortillas)
2 Cups Shredded Colby and Monterey Jack Cheese Blend
20oz Green Enchilada Sauce
1/4 Cup Sour Cream

First, you have to cook and shred the chicken breasts.  You can do this multiple ways, but I baked it.  I put it in a covered baking dish with a little bit of water, seasoned it with some seasoned salt and chipotle powder, and baked at 300F for about an hour.  Once it’s baked, let it cool enough to be handled.  Then, shred it.  I like to just use my hands, but I know others who use two forks.  Just use whatever method you’re comfortable with.

Mix the honey, lime juice, and seasonings in a bowl until smooth.  Add the shredded chicken and beans.  Let that marinate for at least 30 minutes.

Honey Lime Chicken and White Bean Enchiladas - Om Nomalicious

Pour half of the enchilada sauce into the bottom of a baking pan.

Stir 1.5 cups of the cheese into the chicken mixture.  Place about half a cup of the chicken mixture onto each tortilla.  Roll the tortillas and place them seam side down in the prepared pan.

Honey Lime Chicken and White Bean Enchiladas - Om Nomalicious

Whisk the remaining enchilada sauce with the sour cream.

Honey Lime Chicken and White Bean Enchiladas - Om Nomalicious

Top the enchiladas with remaining cheese and cover with the sour cream/enchilada sauce mixture.

Honey Lime Chicken and White Bean Enchiladas - Om Nomalicious

Cover and bake at 350F for about 20 minutes.  Uncover and continue baking for 10 minutes, or until the cheese is brown and bubbly.

Honey Lime Chicken and White Bean Enchiladas - Om Nomalicious

Eat and enjoy!

Honey Lime Chicken and White Bean Enchiladas - Om Nomalicious

All four of the major grocery stores in my area carry the chipotle powder.  It’s there, you just have to look.  The kind I purchased is made by McCormick, and it’s in a glass bottle.

Honey Lime Chicken and White Bean Enchiladas from Om Nomalicious

Also, you could easily make 10 tortillas with this recipe, but my favorite tortillas are sold in 8 packs.  If you decide to make ten, just use 1/3 cup of filling instead.

I think I might attempt to make my own enchilada sauce next time.  I’ve never done it before, but I think it could be fun!  I also want to attempt my own tortillas.

I should also note that this recipe is not very diet friendly at 370 calories per enchilada.  Oh well.  It was 370 calories of pure deliciousness.  I didn’t mind one bit.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Honey Lime Chicken and White Bean Enchiladas

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #9 | Pa-BLAM!

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #14 | Pa-BLAM!

  3. Pingback: The Magical Heart Food « The Vampire Diet

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #23 | Pa-BLAM!

  5. Pingback: One Pan Mac and Cheese | omnomalicious

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #39 | Pa-BLAM!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #40 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #73 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #86 | Pa-BLAM!

  10. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #88 | Pa-BLAM!

  11. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #93 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

