Maple Dijon Chicken

My friend has a copy of the ‘I heart Trader Joe’s Cookbook’.  I was glancing through it one day while waiting for her to finish getting ready.  The recipe for Maple Mustard Chicken really caught my eye.  So, I snapped a photo of it with my cell phone and promised myself I’d make it.

I forgot about it.  I have bad short term memory.

Three months later, I was looking through my photos and saw the recipe! I put the ingredients on my shopping list and made it a few days later.

It was AH-mazing. So, so delicious!

Photobucket

Maple Dijon Chicken

1 lb Boneless Chicken Thighs
½ Cup Dijon Mustard
¼ Cup Maple Syrup
1 Tbsp Rice Vinegar

Preheat oven to 450F.

Photobucket

Place chicken in the bottom of a sprayed glass baking dish.

Mix mustard, syrup, and vinegar. Pour over chicken.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until chicken is fully cooked.

Photobucket

Enjoy.

I served this with crock pot bacon cheddar potatoes, and it was awesome. I’ve also served it with plain rice and pasta before. They’re equally as good, and you can dress them with the leftover sauce!

I happen to love dark meat chicken. Boneless thighs are my favorite; dark meat but with most of the fat is cut off. Delicious! You could easily make this with bone-in chicken or even chicken breasts. Just adjust the cooking time for whatever you’re making.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here.

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Maple Dijon Chicken

  1. fromghost says:

    That does sound really good. The way the rice vinegar would react with the maple syrup and the dijon mustard to the heat in the oven sounds heavenly, and chicken soaks up flavor like a sponge, especially with the presence of the acidity in the vinegar and mustard. Mixing the maple syrup well into that would help absorb the maple flavor well also.

    Great find!

  2. Oh wow. I definitely need to try this. =)

  3. Jittery Cook says:

    Love the simplicity of your post. The name too. Om Nomalicious – what does it mean?

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!!

      The name comes from the term ‘om nom nom’, which according to urbandictionary.com, is “The sound of ravenous eating. Popularized by the character Cookie Monster on Sesame street, it is now used commonly in speech, especially among younger people. Cookie Monster exclaims “OM NOM NOM NOM” when gobbling down cookies (and whatever else goes in his mouth).”

      Om Nomalicious is a combination of that and delicious, kinda slang for super awesome amazingly delicious :D

      Thanks for stopping by!

      • Jittery Cook says:

        Interesting. I need to know more about this young culture stuff. My kids have moved away and stopped teaching me years ago. I make those sounds doing a “chewing” exercise in speech therapy to achieve good voice. Very creative name. Love the green and polka dots. So funny how you can get moved by a blog and feel connected through similar interests. Are you two childhood friends?

      • pamasaurus says:

        Thanks! So glad you like the blog :D

        We actually met online about four years ago. We just clicked and have been friends ever since!

  4. I don’t have rice vinegar but I’ll drop by the grocery tomorrow to get one and try this!

  5. Pingback: Hey Ma! Look what I did with just one organic chicken! « jittery cook

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #5 | Pa-BLAM!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #19 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #24 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #41 | Pa-BLAM!

  10. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #53 | Pa-BLAM!

  11. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #87 | Pa-BLAM!

  12. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #88 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

