Key Lime Cupcakes With Lemon Blackberry Buttercream

Key lime is one of my favorite flavors.  I adore key lime pie.  I could eat it every single day.  The only thing standing in my way is the fact that key limes are hard to find in New Jersey.

Well, I managed to find some the other day.  Instead of making another boring pie, I decided to try these cupcakes from Baked Perfection that I found on Pinterest a while ago.

Oh, wow, were they delicious, even without the blackberry filling.  I was too lazy for that part.

This recipe made 35 cupcakes.  I think I ate about 10 of them before I had managed to see enough people to give them away!  I could’ve easily ate them all.

Key Lime Cupcakes with Lemon Blackberry Buttercream from Om Nomalicious

Key Lime Cupcakes with Lemon-Blackberry Buttercream

Cupcakes:

1 Cup Butter, Softened
2 Cups Sugar
3 Eggs
2 tsp Vanilla Extract
4 Tbsp Key Lime Juice
Zest of Two Limes
3 ½ Cups Flour
1 tsp Baking Soda
½ tsp Baking Powder
½ tsp Salt
2 Cups Sour Cream
4-5 Drops Green Food Coloring, Optional

Buttercream:

2 Sticks Butter, Softened
1 Tsp Lemon Extract
1/3 Cup Seedless Blackberry Jam
Pinch of Salt
6 Cups Powdered Sugar
2-3 Tbsp Milk

Preheat oven to 350F.

Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

In separate bowl, cream the butter and sugar.  Beat in the eggs, followed by the vanilla, lime juice, and zest.  Mix well.

Slowly add the flour mixture, alternating with the sour cream.  Mix in the food coloring if you’re using it.

Key Lime Cupcakes with Lemon Blackberry Buttercream from Om Nomalicious

Fill cups 2/3 full and bake for 20-25 minutes.

Key Lime Cupcakes with Lemon Blackberry Buttercream from Om Nomalicious

Let cool completely before decorating.

Key Lime Cupcakes with Lemon Blackberry Buttercream from Om Nomalicious

When ready for frosting, beat butter and lemon extract together until creamy.  Then, mix in blackberry jam and salt.

Add the powdered sugar and beat until combined.  Add the milk 1 tablespoon at a time until you reach the desired consistency.  I used three tablespoons.  You may need more or less.

Key Lime Cupcakes with Lemon Blackberry Buttercream from Om Nomalicious

Ice the cupcakes and enjoy!

Key Lime Cupcakes with Lemon Blackberry Buttercream from Om Nomalicious

Key Lime Cupcakes with Lemon Blackberry Buttercream from Om Nomalicious

I added the food coloring to the batter because I wanted them to be pretty.  My icing didn’t come out as bright as Baked Perfection’s did, but it was still delicious.  You could always add some red coloring to that if you wanted.

I should also say that I used 1 ½ cups whole wheat flour and 2 cups all purpose flour, and they were still amazingly moist and delicious.  No one had any idea, nor did they believe me when I told them.

I won’t disclose the calorie count of these bad boys.  Trust me. You don’t want to know.

for a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Key Lime Cupcakes With Lemon Blackberry Buttercream

  1. quilt32 says:

    I love key lime pie and also love blackberries in any form. This is the perfect dessert.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  2. Juliet says:

    Oh, I love key lime, too! These look delicious and beautiful. :0)

  3. TheLittleGSP says:

    These look delicious! :-)

  4. mrsgarda says:

    why do you always have to make things that look SO GOOD omg

  5. Almost too beautiful to eat!

  6. Jennifer M. says:

    I love the colors in these cupcakes – you go, girl! And don’t worry about the calories. I bet you burned a bunch just baking them, taking the photos, and writing the post :)

  7. tracye1 says:

    Holy cow, I want to make these this weekend!!! YUM!!!

  8. Lindsay says:

    Your pictures are great! What kind of camera do you have?

  9. pclovinu says:

    Lovin’ key lime anything, blackberries too! Sounds yummy :)

  10. msdulce says:

    I’m almost at a loss for words over how amazing these look… calories be damned! Great post :)

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you :D

      These are so delicious. Seriously. They’d be worth 10 times the calories they actually were!

  11. these look fantastic! we’re obsessed with this color of green, as we are of kelly (green), but that would look odd for a cupcake, unless it was st. patricks day :) we’ll be sure to give these a try!
    xx ~ tdl
    p.s. ~ in honor of the grand opening of our online jewelry boutique coming this month, we’re hosting a giveaway to 3 lucky people! we’re giving away one of our most popular “feathers” bracelets, featured on polyvore! you can enter @ http://tresorsdeluxe.wordpress.com/2012/04/30/our-grand-opening-give-away/ good luck to you and we look forward trying these delicious looking lime cupcakes! thank you :)

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks so much! Hopefully you get to make these soon! They’re definitely worth it :D

      I’m heading over to check out your site now!!

  12. Pingback: Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting | omnomalicious

  13. Pingback: Ridley Creek State Park | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

