Crock Pot Chicken Tacos

So, guys, tomorrow is Cinco De Mayo. Many people think this is Mexico’s Independence Day. Nope. That would be September 16th. Cinco De Mayo actually commemorates the victory of the Mexicans over the French during the Battle of Puebla in 1862.

For a lot of Americans, though, it’s a day to drink margaritas and eat Mexican food.

I might (maybe) skip the former, but this recipe is going to satisfy the latter. This is my take on this recipe from Tasty Kitchen.

After making this the first time, I decided I would probably never make regular tacos again! They’re that delicious. So, make these. Make these right now.

Crock Pot Chicken Tacos - Om Nomalicious

Crock Pot Chicken Tacos

2 lb Boneless Skinless Chicken Thighs
1 15.5oz Can Black Beans
12 oz Salsa (I used a Black Bean and White Corn kind. Use whatever you like!)
1 7oz Can Diced Green Chilies
2 Cloves Garlic, Minced
1 1/2 Cup Frozen Corn
1 Tbsp Chili Powder
½ tsp Onion Powder
1 tsp Paprika
1 Tbsp Cumin
Taco Shells, Tortillas, Desired Toppings

Mix all the ingredients together in your crock pot.

Crock Pot Chicken Tacos - Om Nomalicious

Cook on high for 4 to 6 hours or 6 to 8 hours on low.

Crock Pot Chicken Tacos - Om Nomalicious

Shred the chicken with a fork and mix well.

Crock Pot Chicken Tacos - Om Nomalicious

Crock Pot Chicken Tacos - Om Nomalicious

Serve in taco shells, tortillas, or lettuce wraps. Top with whatever you want. We just used cheese, lettuce, and sour cream. Enjoy. Seriously, though, enjoy.

Crock Pot Chicken Tacos - Om Nomalicious

Mine made about 17 servings, ¼ cup and 110 calories each. That doesn’t include the shell or the toppings.

Crock Pot Chicken Tacos - Om Nomalicious

I’m definitely going to be nomming on this tomorrow. What are your plans??

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Crock Pot Chicken Tacos

  1. Looks delish! I liked the combo – history lesson and recipe – we should never stop learning!

  2. Jennifer M. says:

    First of all, I love how easy and economical this recipe is – thanks for the great idea!

    Second, I just realized you are using Google Docs to make printable recipes – brilliant :) I am totally stealing this idea ;)

    And finally, drink a margarita, girl. You deserve it.

    Happy Cinco de Mayo!

    • pamasaurus says:

      1. You’re welcome! It’s delicious, too, so it’s the trifecta of recipe awesomeness!

      2. Steal away! I stole it from another blog, anyway. It really is a simple, easy way to do it!

      3. I probably will. I have a hair appointment ‘date’ with one of my friends in the afternoon. Maybe margaritas are in order after that!

      Happy Cinco de Mayo right back at you!

  3. Looks great! Happy 5 de Mayo!

  4. I must try this for cinco de mayo!!!

  5. Ariana Neala says:

    Thank you for making me SERIOUSLY hungry! lol

  6. I love this idea! And I can make it for the little guy!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #5 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #8 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #11 | Pa-BLAM!

  10. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #16 | Pa-BLAM!

  11. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #19 | Pa-BLAM!

  12. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #22 | Pa-BLAM!

  13. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #23 | Pa-BLAM!

  14. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #38 | Pa-BLAM!

  15. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #43 | Pa-BLAM!

  16. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #50 | Pa-BLAM!

  17. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #59 | Pa-BLAM!

  18. mhdriver says:

    This sounds good – coming from California I’m use to eating burritos and tacos. I’m going to have to try it the next time we want Mexican food. I had a friend that had a Mexican Restaurant in North Ridge.

  19. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #60 | Pa-BLAM!

  20. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #62 | Pa-BLAM!

  21. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #64 | Pa-BLAM!

  22. Pingback: Tillamook Community - Top 5 Spring Crockpot Recipes

  23. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #84 | Pa-BLAM!

  24. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #89 | Pa-BLAM!

  25. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #94 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

