Baked Corn

This recipe comes from my Aunt Sue.  She got it from an old Church Cookbook, and she’s been making it for as long as I can remember.  We have it every year for Thanksgiving, and usually for other holidays as well.  It’s a family tradition.

Everyone in our family loves it, too.  We usually have to make a double (or triple) batch depending on how many people are coming.

Since we moved to New Jersey, we haven’t been able to get home for many holidays.  So, I’ve started making this.  The kid LOVES it.  So, sometimes I make it just because I can, just as a side dish on a regular evening.

In the cookbook, it’s called ‘escalloped corn.’  We’ve always just called it ‘baked corn’ though.  So, that’s the name I shall attach to it.

Go make this now.  You won’t regret it.

I should also mentioned that my friend made an allergen free version of this recipe.  Her son has a lot of food allergies, including gluten, eggs, and milk.  If you’re interested in the changes she made, check it out over here.

Baked Corn from Om Nomalicious

Baked Corn

20 Ounces Frozen Corn
1/2 Cup Milk
1/4 Cup Butter
1 Egg, Beaten
1 1/2 Cups Ritz Cracker Crumbs (About 30 Crackers)
2 Tbsp Minced Onions
3 Tbsp Brown Sugar
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Combine the corn, butter, milk, salt, and pepper in a saucepan.  Bring to a simmer and cook until tender.

Baked Corn from Om Nomalicious

Stir in the eggs, cracker crumbs, onion, and brown sugar.

Baked Corn from Om Nomalicious

Pour into a sprayed casserole dish.

Baked Corn from Om Nomalicious

Bake at 350F for about 30 minutes, until it is golden brown.

Baked Corn from Om Nomalicious

Super easy and super delicious!

Baked Corn from Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Baked Corn

  1. quilt32 says:

    That looks really good. I’ll be trying the recipe.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  2. I just love scalloped corn! That’s what we call it – my nana always made it and now my mom. So, I suppose it will be my turn one day. Sure am glad I can come here and get the recipe! :)

  3. I’m not a big fan of corn, but my hubby is. This sounds REALLY good. It’s going on the “to try” list :-) It actually reminds me of the Squash Casserole that I posted…Boston Market recipe. Really easy way to make veggies taste yummier ;-)

  4. Pingback: Dear Readers, | omnomalicious

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #22 | Pa-BLAM!

  6. Pingback: Cauliflower Gratin | omnomalicious

  7. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving!! | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: White Chocolate Cranberry Cheesecake | omnomalicious

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #72 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

