Homemade Maple Turkey Sausage

As part of my healthy lifestyle/weight loss journey, I have started to eat breakfast everyday. I don’t mean I have like a bowl of cereal. I eat eggs, sausage, toast, everything. I eat a LARGE breakfast. It’s my favorite meal. I love breakfast foods so much.

I attempted to make my own turkey sausage once without looking at any sort of recipe. It just turned out like slightly spiced ground turkey. Fail.

So, I found this recipe and tried it! It was a little too spicy for my liking, as well as a little soft. It fell apart on me while I was cooking it.

But! It was a good starting point. I knew it had potential. Here is what I came up with.

Photobucket

Homemade Maple Turkey Sausage

1 lb Lean Ground Turkey
¼ Cup No Sugar Added Applesauce
2 Tbsp Maple Syrup
1 tsp Salt
½ tsp Pepper
¼ tsp Chipotle Pepper Seasoning
½ tsp Rubbed Sage
1/8 tsp Garlic Powder
1/8 tsp Onion Powder
2 Tbsp Olive Oil

Mix ground turkey with applesauce, maple syrup, and spices.

Photobucket

Form into patties. I used ¼ cup of mixture per patties and ended up with 9 patties.

Heat oil in skillet over medium-high heat. Add patties, and cook for 6-8 minutes on each side, or until the middle is not longer pink.

Photobucket

These are great for freezing! Just put them on a plate or baking sheet in a single layer and put in the freezer. Once they’re frozen, put them in a freezer bag.

Just pull one out when you’re ready and either microwave or put it in a skillet for a few minutes.

Best part? Each patty only has 80 calories! They definitely taste like so much more than that!!

Photobucket

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in bread and breakfast, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Homemade Maple Turkey Sausage

  1. quilt32 says:

    The applesauce is an interesting addition. I’m going to try this.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  2. Reminds me a little of the pork sausage my grandma used to make, only she upped the sage a little and didn’t use chipotle. Heck, she didn’t know what chipotle was. Applesauce is a creative way to add moisture without pork fat. I bet this would taste good crumbled into some gravy over biscuits which of course would negate every bit of it’s health benefits too :D

    • pamasaurus says:

      Haha. It sounds delicious that way, too! Us some reduced fat biscuits, and some fat free half and half in the gravy…

      I’m just brainstorming :D

  3. mhdriver says:

    I agree with you breakfast is one of the best meal of the day. Thank you for your recipe.

Leave a Reply

