Strawberry-Rhubarb Crumb Cake

As some of you know, we recently visted my In-Laws in Maine. While exploring their property, we noticed that they had rhubarb growing sporadically. Or course, I had to bring some home with me!

Deciding what to make with it was difficult. I could’ve gone traditional and made pie. I could’ve been creative like my friend Megan; she made plum-apple-rhubarb jam with the portion I gave to her.

Instead, I thought I’d make cake, crumb cake to be exact. I started with recipe for rhubarb crumb bars from Martha Stewart, and went from there. What I ended up with was amazing, guys, amazing.

I suggest you dust off your baking hat and make this. Now.

Photobucket

Strawberry-Rhubarb Crumb Cake

For Batter:

1/2 Pound Rhubarb
1 Pound Strawberries
1 1/2 Tbsp Brown Sugar
1 1/3 Cup Flour, Divided
3/4 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Salt
3/4 Cup Butter
2 Eggs
1 tsp Vanilla
1 1/4 Cup Sugar

For Streusel:

1/2 Cup Butter
3/4 Cup Brown Sugar
1/4 tsp Salt
1 1/4 Cup Flour

Heat oven to 350F and grease a 9-inch square baking dish.

Make the streusel by mixing the butter, brown sugar, and salt together. Add the flour and mix with a fork until clumps form.

Photobucket

Cut the rhubarb into 1/4 inch pieces and slice the strawberries. I should note that I used frozen strawberries I had leftover from strawberry picking earlier this season. Feel free to buy frozen ones if you need to. Also, I used a mixture of white and red rhubarb. The white supposedly has a stronger flavor. Use whatever you can get, even if it’s frozen.

Photobucket

Mix the rhubarb, strawberries, brown sugar, and 1/3 cup of the flower together. Set mixture aside for now.

Photobucket

Make the batter by sifting together the remaining flour, salt, and baking powder.

Beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and vanilla; mix well.

Stir in the flour mixture until just incorporated, making sure not to over mix.

Photobucket

Pour the batter in the prepared dish, top with fruit mixture and streusel.

Photobucket

Bake for 50-55 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Photobucket

Serve this warm, room temperature, cold, whatever. I, personally, thought it was amazing any way.

Photobucket

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strawberry-Rhubarb Crumb Cake

  1. YUM! And your photos make it look even more delicious! :)

Leave a Reply

