Penne Pasta with Sun-Dried Tomato Cream Sauce

This recipes comes from Very Best Baking. I found it (surprise, surprise) on Pinterest. It was actually one of the first recipes I had ever pinned; it just took me a while to get around to actually making it.

It was super easy. Seriously. The longest part was waiting for the water to boil and pasta to cook.

It as also pretty amazing, guys. I’ll definitely be making it again!

Photobucket

Penne Pasta with Sun-Dried Tomato Cream Sauce

8oz Dry Penne Pasta
2 Cups Frozen Peas
8 Sun-Dried Tomatoes
1 12oz Can Evaporated Milk
2 Cups Shredded Italian Blend Cheese
1 tsp Dried Basil
1/2 tsp Garlic Powder
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Boil pasta according to package directions. I cooked the peas right along with the pasta, but you could cook them separately if you want.

Pat the sun-dried tomatoes to remove oil, chop, and add to pasta during the last two minutes or so of cooking.

Photobucket

Photobucket

While pasta is cooking, combine evaporated milk, cheese, basil, garlic powder, salt, and pepper in a saucepan. Cook over medium-low heat until cheese is melted, stirring occasionally.

Photobucket

Add pasta, peas, and sun-dried tomatoes to the cheese sauce and stir until combined.

Photobucket

Serve hot and enjoy!

Photobucket

See? What could be easier than that? Actually, don’t answer that because I have another super easy recipe that I’ll probably share next week.

This could easily be made low(er) calorie by using fat free evaporated milk and low fat cheese.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, side dish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Penne Pasta with Sun-Dried Tomato Cream Sauce

  1. This recipe reminds me of the spaghetti dish my dad’s best friend used to serve on Sundays during the summer because he said it was too hot for red gravy. He came to this country from Italy during WWI (he was pretty old!) and he cooked the most heavenly Italian food I’ve ever eaten but the one with English Peas stuck with me because I love ‘em! I’m going to pin this recipe and make it one day soon!! Thanks Pam!

    • pamasaurus says:

      You’re welcome! Hopefully you enjoy it… and don’t worry, it’s REALLY easy to make, haha :D

      English peas are delicious. I put them in basically everything ;)

  2. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award and One Lovely Blog Award | Chef Lippe

  3. cheflippe says:

    I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award and One Versatile Blogger awards please check out my comments on your wonderful blog at http://wp.me/p2n8ji-av.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you so much! I’ll get you added to our awards page and such as soon as I get a chance! I have guests in from out of town, so I’m behind on everything, haha.

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #13 | Pa-BLAM!

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #82 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

