Peaches and Cream Cupcakes

If you’re a regular reader of my blog, then you might know that one of my best friends, AA, just had a birthday. I bake cupcakes for everything, so this event was no different.

AA loves peaches, and it just happened that they are in season here in Jersey. I bought some and made these amazing peaches and cream cupcakes. They were delicious.

Photobucket

Since it was her 21st, we ate them outside of a bar, in the parking lot. We’re nothing if not classy.

I started with my basic sour cream cake batter, added peaches, and made the icing and topping from Humming Bird High. It was a perfect combination.

I should note that the icing is super sweet, so you don’t need much… and the crumb topping is a little messy. Or we were drunk. One of those.

Photobucket

Peaches and Cream Cupcakes

For Batter:

1 1/2 Cups flour
1 1/4 tsp Baking Powder
1/4 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 Cup Unsalted Butter, Softened
3/4 Cup Brown Sugar
1/4 Cup Sugar
2 Eggs
1/2 Cup Sour cream
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
1 1/2 Cups Peaches, Chopped (About 2 Peaches)

For Frosting:

2 Cups Conectioners’ Sugar
5 Tbsp Unsalted Butter, Room Temperature
2 Drops Vanilla Extract
Up To 2 Tbsp milk

For Crumb Topping:

1/2 Cup Powdered Milk
2 Tbsp Flour
1 Tbsp Cornstarch
1 Tbsp Sugar
1/2 tsp Kosher Salt
2 Tbsp Unsalted Butter
1.5 oz White Chocolate

Preheat oven to 350F and line your muffin pans. I got 16 cupcakes out of this recipe. So, expect somewhere in there.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, and baking soda. Set aside.

In a large bowl, beat the butter, brown sugar, and sugar together until fluffy. Add the eggs, sour cream, and vanilla until blended.

Add the flour mixture, a little at a time, making sure to mix well.

Photobucket

Fold in the peaches, and stir until evenly distributed.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Fill the liners 3/4 full and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Photobucket

Photobucket

While waiting for the cupcakes to cool, get started on the frosting and topping.

For the frosting, beat together the confectioners’ sugar and butter until well mixed. Add the vanilla and up to 2 Tablespoons of milk, depending on how much you need to get to the desired constency.

Beat on high until light and fluffy.

For the crumb topping melt the butter and white chocolate together. You can use the microwave or stove top. I used the microwave because it was faster.

Toss remaining ingredients with the melted butter/chocolate, and stir until it forms clumps.

Photobucket

Ice the cupcakes, and then top with the crumbs. I dipped my cupcakes into the bowl, but you could sprinkle them if you wanted. Whichever.

Photobucket

Enjoy!!

Photobucket

Photobucket

These would be pretty good without the crumbs if you wanted to leave them out, just to let you know.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Peaches and Cream Cupcakes

  1. Look wonderful! I Google +’d them. Hope you don’t mind!

  2. They look delicious! And thanks for the link is a great site :)

  3. quilt32 says:

    The crumb topping looks especially tempting. I’m going to try these.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  4. mydearbakes says:

    You are so a talented baker! This is so amazing! =)

  5. Pingback: End of Summer | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

