Strawberry Yogurt Cake

I’m back guys!  I had a fun vacation, which you can read about here if you feel so inclined.

I’ve been holding onto this recipe for a while, since I went strawberry picking. I was expirementing with different recipes, and this one was pretty delicious. I don’t know why I didn’t post it sooner; I guess I always had something I wanted to post more, maybe.

Photobucket

I was inspired to finally type it up by The Vampire Diet. She posted about Greek yogurt, which promted me to think about this recipe. So, here it is. Finally.

I got the inspiration for the recipe from Smitten Kitchen; I just changed a few tiny things.

So…. go make this now, and point me in the direction for more yogurt based baked goods!

Photobucket

Strawberry Yogurt Cake

1 1/2 Cup Flour
2 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Salt
1 Cup Plain Greek Yogurt
1 Cup + 1 Tbsp Sugar
3 Eggs
Juice and Zest of 2 Lemons
1/2 tsp Lemon Extract
1/2 Cup Olive Oil (or Vegetable Oil)
1 Cup Sliced Strawberries

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease and flour a loaf pan.

Mix the flour, baking powder, and salt together and set aside.

Photobucket

Whisk together the yogurt, 1 cup of sugar, eggs, zest, lemon extract, and oil.

Photobucket

Add the dry ingredients to the wet, and mix well. Fold in the strawberries and pour into the prepared loaf pan.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Bake for about 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Photobucket

When the cake is done, allow it to cool in the pan for about 10 minutes. Mix together the lemon juice and 1 tablespoon of sugar.

Turn the cake out onto a sheet pan and poke a bunch of small holes in the bottom with a toothpick. Slowly pour the lemon juice mixture over the cake, allowing it to absorb. If you have a pastry brush, you can use that to brush on the syrup.

Photobucket

This cake is delicious still a little warm, room temperature, or chilled. So, eat it however you want!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Strawberry Yogurt Cake

  1. Jecca says:

    This makes me sad that strawberries are my kryptonite!! They look NOM!

  2. quilt32 says:

    This looks so good – I’ll have to see how the strawberries are at the store this week.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

    • pamasaurus says:

      If they don’t have delicious looking strawberries, try blueberries or raspberries. Both would be delicious in this as well!

  3. This sounds fantastic. Peaches and nectarines are in season now, so I’m trying to make good use of them. I bet they’d be great subbed into this bread. Meanwhile – you should check out my recipe on the baked good that I’d marry if it were legal… I’m sure you could sub yogurt for the sour cream. http://mybakingempire.wordpress.com/2010/06/03/if-i-could-marry-a-baked-good/

Leave a Reply

