Dried Beef Cheese Ball

I remember this recipe being made for every single family function since I was born… or since I was 3, since that’s when my memory kicks in.  I love it; all the kids in my family love it; everyone loves it.  Trinity and my cousin Rylin could eat a whole thing by themselves!

All of my friends ask for this recipe.  When my friend Jamie was pregnant, she would ask my mom to make her this just because she wanted it.  It’s so simple, but so amazing.  I’ve met very few people who haven’t enjoyed it.

Where did it come from?  Well, according to my mom, she got this recipe from a woman she worked with years ago.  Well, obviously it was a long time ago.  I’m 29, so it’s been at least that long.  This woman brought it in for work functions, but refused to give out the recipe because it was a family secret.  After a lot of pestering, she cracked and gave my mom the recipe.

Big mistake.  I think everyone we know has this recipe now… not to mention all you fine interweb people.

If you’re the woman who gave my mom this recipe, I apologize.  Well, not really because this recipe is too amazing to be kept secret.

Dried Beef Cheeseball by Om Nomalicious

Dried Beef Cheese Ball

3 Ounces Thin Sliced Dried Beef
16 Ounces Cream Cheese, Softened
1 Small Onion
1 Tbsp Mayonnaise
1 tsp Dijon Mustard
1/2 tsp Horseradish (Optional)

Chop the dried beef. I usually pulse it in my food processor, but my mom has been known to use her Food Chopper.  Reserve about 1/4 of the beef to roll the ball in.  Finely chop the onion.  I usually throw that in the food processor as well.

Mix all the ingredients, except the reserved beef, together until well blended.

Dried Beef Cheeseball by Om Nomalicious

Dried Beef Cheeseball by Om Nomalicious

Form a ball and roll it in the remaining beef.

Dried Beef Cheeseball by Om Nomalicious

Chill and enjoy.

Dried Beef Cheeseball by Om Nomalicious

We usually serve this with Townhouse, Club, or Ritz crackers.  When my mom is in the mood, she’ll make a loaf of bread in her breadmaker and cube it.  This cheese ball is amazing on the cubed bread!

I’ve even used leftovers on bagels the next morning.  Seriously, you can eat this on anything.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, snacks and appetizers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Dried Beef Cheese Ball

  1. My husband’s entire family loves this. I thought it was weird at first but it is … super yummy!

  2. Our family has a cheese ball recipe similiar to this one that has been in our family forever as well! and yours looks as delicious!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! I bet yours is super delicious as well! The more feedback I get, the more it seems like most families do have a recipe like this. Which is weird, because I’ve never ran into anything like it except when my mom makes it. I seem to be hanging around the wrong people ;)

  3. Gail says:

    Thank you, Pami. I now have to make a double batch for family functions because both Rylin and Wyatt eat one themselves. Your Aunt Linda has used dried venison and it has a whole different flavor. I am very proud of my daughter and all her accomplishments!!!!

  4. Nicole :) says:

    OMG! This looks fabulous and I believe totally gluten free (I will have to check the dried beef). Its perfect football food too! Thanks for yet another great recipe. :)

    • pamasaurus says:

      You’re welcome! I hope you can find some GF dried beef (I know some companies put gluten in their lunch meat. I’ve never looked at dried beef, though)!

      I just posted an awesome soup that I’m pretty sure would be GF, too. I’m starting to pay more attention to this stuff the more GF people I meet!

  5. Dave says:

    I’ll probably never make this since it seems so decadent, but I can dream about it. :)

  6. Pingback: Dried Beef Cheese Log

  7. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving!! | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Christina says:

    My grandmother made a similar cheeseball. She always rolled hers in chopped pecans

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’ve heard of the nut ones before, but wasn’t sure what all went inside of them. Pecans are pretty delicious! It seems most families have a traditional cheeseball that they all love! I had never thought about it until I started getting comments on this post, lol. Thanks for stopping by :D

  9. Ruth Cobb says:

    Mom made a dried beef hot dip that was so good. Similar ingredients, from the dried beef jar, I think. Mom made six turns of it for my wedding reception. None was left. I’ll have to try this.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Oh wow. That sounds pretty delicious. I’ll have to see if I can find that recipe somewhere. Thanks for stopping by and sharing!

  10. Todd Welch says:

    This sounds fantastic I was planning on making for my work pitch in tomorrow of course I will start after football haha.. what do you think about adding some bacon bits to the mix??

    • pamasaurus says:

      Bacon bits? I don’t think it would be bad… everything is better with bacon, right? However, there’s minced dried been in the mix…. so I’m not sure if that would overpower the bacon bits. It’s worth a try though! At best, it’s amazing. At worst, it doesn’t change much.

  11. I used to have this at my day’s ex-wife’s family parties! Haven’t had it in years! Yum!

Leave a Reply

