Roasted Corn Chowder

One of my favorite food blogs is Spoon Fork Bacon.  The recipes posted on that page are always amazing, and the photography is superb.  You should definitely swing over there and have a look around.  This recipe for Roasted Corn Chowder was posted earlier this month, and I just knew I had to try it as soon as I could!

So, I tried it with a few small changes.  The most amazing change was actually an accident. I didn’t have enough potatoes, so I used half russet and half sweet potatoes.  Oh, wow, guys.  Delicious.  I wish you could have been here to smell my kitchen while this was cooking.  You’ll just have to make it yourself to see what I’m talking about.

Just a warning:  It is pretty time consuming, but definitely worth it.

Roasted Corn Chowder by Om Nomalicious

Roasted Corn Chowder

2 Ears of Corn
4 Cups Chicken Broth
4 Slices Bacon
1 Yellow Onion
2 Bell Peppers
4 Cloves Garlic
2 Large Russet Potatoes
2 Large Sweet Potatoes
1/4 Cup Flour
1 Tbsp Dried Cilantro
1 Tbsp Dried Oregano
1 Cup Half and Half
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Start by roasting the corn.  Leave the corn in the husks and roast in oven at 350F for 30 minutes.

Cut the corn from the husk.  Put the corn and the husk in a large stock pan with the chicken broth.  Cover and simmer for about 40 minutes.

While the broth is simmering, prep all the vegetables: Peel and mince the garlic, dice the peppers, onions, and potatoes.  Also, dice the bacon.

Once the broth is done, remove and throw away the husks.  I poured my soup into a bowl and used my immersion blended on it.  If you don’t have an immersion blender, you could put it in a blender or food processor.  Set mixture aside.

Roasted Corn Chowder by Om Nomalicious

Cook the bacon in the bottom of the pan for 4 to 5 minutes.  Add the garlic, onions, peppers, and potatoes.  Saute for another 5 to 7 minutes, or until the vegetables begin to soften.

Roasted Corn Chowder by Om Nomalicious

Mix in the flour and cook for another 3 minutes.

Slowly add the broth-corn mixture, stirring constantly, until fully incorporated.  Add cilantro and oregano.  Bring mixture to a simmer and allow to cook until the vegetables are done, about 5 minutes.

Roasted Corn Chowder by Om Nomalicious

Season with salt and pepper and stir in the half and half.

Roasted Corn Chowder by Om Nomalicious

Enjoy

Roasted Corn Chowder by Om Nomalicious

It’s even amazing as leftovers! We’ll definitely be having this again (and again).

Roasted Corn Chowder by Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Roasted Corn Chowder

  1. I have some corn in the freezer that I put up this summer just waiting on a good recipe to come along – and this is it!!!

  2. pamasaurus says:

    <3 It's so delicious! It's pretty low calorie, too, especially if you use fat free chicken broth and light cream/fat free half and half. So, you could easily fit it into your diet ;)

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #17 | Pa-BLAM!

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #19 | Pa-BLAM!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan #1 | mamatothreelittlebirds

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #60 | Pa-BLAM!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #61 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

