Apple Pandowdy

When I went apple picking a few weeks ago, I posted on Pa-Blam asking for help.  I needed to know what to make with all the apples I had.  Someone had suggested ‘apple pandowdy.’  I had never heard of it before, so I made use of The Google.

It seemed pretty straightforward and easy to make, just an upside down cobbler of sorts.  I gathered elements from different recipes, and made something up.  Then I tweaked some stuff and made it again.  The third try was perfect.

Seriously, this is one of the easiest apple desserts I’ve made.  It’s delicious on it’s own or with some vanilla ice cream.

Apple Pandowdy by Om Nomalicious - a deliciously easy apple dessert

Apple Pandowdy

4 Large Apples (I used Jonagold)
2 Tbsp Maple Syrup
1 tsp Cinnamon
1/2 tsp Nutmeg
1 1/4 Cup Flour
1/2 tsp Salt
2 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 Cup Sugar
8 Tbsp (1 Stick) Butter, Melted
1/2 Cup Milk

Preheat oven to 350F.

Core and slice the apples.  In a large bowl, toss them with the maple syrup, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

Apple Pandowdy by Om Nomalicious - a deliciously easy apple dessert

Pour the apples into a sprayed or buttered baking dish and set aside.

Whisk together the flour, salt, baking powder, and sugar.

Add the melted butter and milk.  Stir to make a smooth batter.

Apple Pandowdy by Om Nomalicious - a deliciously easy apple dessert

Pour the batter over the apples.

Apple Pandowdy by Om Nomalicious - a deliciously easy apple dessert

Bake for 40-45 minutes, or until the batter has risen and browned.

Apple Pandowdy by Om Nomalicious - a deliciously easy apple dessert

Enjoy!

Apple Pandowdy by Om Nomalicious - a deliciously easy apple dessert

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Apple Pandowdy

  1. Haven’t thought of this in years! My nana used to make it. I”m going to pin it and make some soon! Thanks.

  2. Dabbit says:

    One for me I love appley things…Looks great

  3. Oh wow…the name itself is super fun! Then when I saw that it has maple syrup in it?! Definitely pinning to make at some point!

Leave a Reply

