Crock Pot Chicken and Stock

I know a lot of people that are afraid of roasting chicken.  They say that it seems really complicated and difficult.  It doesn’t have to be, though.  Seriously, all you have to do is throw it in the crock pot.  It’s one of the easiest things I’ve made.

I make this every now and then.  It’ll give us ‘roasted’ chicken for dinner one night, and the leftovers will be used for soup of some sort the next.  Whole chickens are one of the most inexpensive meats you can buy.  So, this is extra awesome if you’re on a budget.

Photobucket

Crock Pot Chicken and Stock

1 Whole Chicken
Seasoning of Choice
Vegetables of Choice

Start by removing the giblets/neck/whatever from the chicken. If you want, put these in a covered container or plastic bag to use in the stock later.

Rinse and dry the chicken and shove it in your crock pot. Keep the size of your crock in mind when buying your chicken.

Season with whatever you want. I used some sea salt and poultry seasoning. Don’t be shy with the seasoning; it has to season the whole bird!

Photobucket

Some other seasoning options are: olive oil and rosemary; chili powder, cumin, and sage; lemon juice and pepper; garlic and paprika. You get the idea. Be creative!

Cover and cook on low for 7 hours or high for 4 hours, until the internal temperature is at least 165F. It’s OK to go over that temperature, though. Mine was in the 180s and was still deliciously juicy.

Photobucket

The chicken is done! Serve it with whatever sides you want. Wasn’t that super easy??

Photobucket

Photobucket

There will be some juice left in your crock pot at this point. It’s super easy to turn that into chicken stock.

Debone the chicken, and put all the bones into the crock pot. Save the leftover, deboned, shredded chicken to use in soup or whatever.

Photobucket

Add the reserved giblets/neck/whatever along with any vegetables you may want to add. Maybe some carrots and onions? It’s really up to you. You can skip them if you want as well.

Add enough water to cover everything, put the lid back on the crock pot, and cook on low over night.

In the morning, strain the bones and such out of the stock. I usually run mine through my gravy separator a few times to remove as much fat as possible.

Photobucket

Use this as a base for any type of soup you want.. like chicken and corn soup, chicken noodle and vegetable soup, or even PA Dutch chicken and waffles.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Crock Pot Chicken and Stock

  1. espirational says:

    How did you get your chicken so nicely browned in the slow cooker? Am I missing something?

    • pamasaurus says:

      Haha, I think a lot of the ‘browning’ you’re seeing is the spices I dumped on it. It doesn’t brown or crisp like it would in the oven, but we don’t eat the skin anyway.

      You could always start it in the crock pot, then put it in the oven for 30 minutes to brown and crisp the skin if that’s your thing ;)

  2. I’ve never thought of roasting in the crock pot – that’s a great idea, especially when it’s hot outside. Thanks! Your’s looks delicious!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! The skin doesn’t crips like it does in the oven, but we don’t eat that part anyway ;) Well, I don’t need to eat that part anyway I should say, haha. It’s super easy this way, too!

  3. I’ll admit, I’ve been too chicken (ha) to try this, but I also never thought of doing it in a crock pot! That I can handle! Thanks for the tips on cooking it :)

    • pamasaurus says:

      You’re welcome! I used to be afraid of the whole cooking a chicken thing, too, until I hosted thanksgiving. I *had* to roast a turkey. It’s really a lot easier than we think it is ;) Doing it in the crock pot is even easier!

  4. I have nominated you for The Reality Blog Award http://wp.me/p27eXb-9G Congratulations!

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #18 | Pa-BLAM!

  6. Nicole :) says:

    I can’t believe I have never cooked a chicken like this. What am I, living in the dark ages? This was SOOO simple! I made it yesterday and it was flavorful and just fell off the bones. Yummmm. Thanks!!

    • pamasaurus says:

      You’re welcome! Glad you liked it! I loooove how easy it is; just throw it in and forget it! Definitely easier than baking, and comes out way juicier!

  7. Pingback: Pennsylvania Dutch Chicken Pot Pie | omnomalicious

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #28 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. Yummygal says:

    Nom nom nom nom. I hate de-boning, but crock-pot chicken is delish. I haven’t done it in awhile! I’m going to have to go out and get a chicken now! Thanks for always making me hungry, btw!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’ve learned to tolerate deboning chicken, haha. It’s super easy with the crock pot chicken because it basically just falls off the bone!

      My job is done here ;)

  10. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #35 | Pa-BLAM!

  11. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #44 | Pa-BLAM!

  12. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #63 | Pa-BLAM!

  13. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #64 | Pa-BLAM!

  14. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #69 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

