Squash Macaroni and Cheese

I’m always looking for ways to sneak vegetables into meals. I’m also always looking for ways to make delicious recipes a little healthier. When I saw this recipe from Ellie Krieger, I knew I had to try it. Macaroni and cheese is one of my favorite foods. The kid loves it as well. I couldn’t pass up the chance to sneak in some veggies!

Healthy macaroni and cheese? Yes, please!!

Squash Mac and Cheese by Om Nomalicious

We weren’t disappointed. The squash added a creaminess that is hard to get with regular mac and cheese. It’s now the hubster’s favorite variety; he’s always asking for it.

So…. try it. I promise it’s delicious.

Squash Mac and Cheese by Om Nomalicious

Squash Macaroni and Cheese

1 Pound Macaroni
2 Tbsp Butter
2 Tbsp Flour
2 Cups Milk
1 10 or 12 Ounce Package Frozen Pureed Squash (Or 10-12oz Squash, Cooked and Pureed)
1.5 Cup Shredded Cheddar
1 15 Ounce Container Ricotta Cheese
1/2 Cup Grated Parmesan
.5 tsp Powdered Mustard
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Preheat oven to 350F and spray a baking dish with nonstick spray.

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and cook the macaroni according to package directions. Drain and set aside.

Squash Mac and Cheese by Om Nomalicious

Meanwhile, melt the butter in a saucepan. Add the flour, whisk until fully combined, and cook for 2 minutes.

Slowly add the milk, whisking well after each addition.

Add the squash and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and let simmer 3-5 minutes, until it thickens a bit.

Remove from heat and add the cheeses, leaving 1/2 cup of cheddar for topping. Stir until cheese is melted and fully combined.

Season with powdered mustard, salt, and pepper.

Squash Mac and Cheese by Om Nomalicious

Mix the macaroni and sauce together, pour into prepared baking dish, and top with remaining cheese.

Squash Mac and Cheese by Om Nomalicious

Squash Mac and Cheese by Om Nomalicious

Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until it’s hot and bubbly.

Squash Mac and Cheese by Om Nomalicious

Enjoy!

Squash Mac and Cheese by Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Squash Macaroni and Cheese

  1. arzea says:

    Do you know what the nutritional information is on this recipe? It looks so good, and I LOVE your picture of the noodles in the colander, great shot!

  2. I’m not exactly sure about the squash – but I will give it a go!

  3. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing :)

  4. alexitza says:

    OMG , looks delicious!!! That’s what I’m going to eat tonight !!

    http://www.alexitzamiller.wordpress.com

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #60 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

