One Pan Mac and Cheese

Guess what, guys?  Today is Om Nomalicious’s one year blogiversary.  I just can’t believe it’s been that long since I posted our very first recipe, Honey Lime Chicken and White Bean Enchiladas.  The time has just flown by!

In this past year, Jecca and I have made a total of 197 (this makes 198) posts, collected 365 followers, and received over 43,000 views and 2,000 comments.  Our top two posts, Crock Pot Baked Potato Soup and Cheesesteak Stuffed Peppers, have over 2,000 views each!

In my opinion, that isn’t too bad for two girls who had no idea what they were doing!

I know we’ve been slow with posts lately, but life gets in the way sometimes.  Jecca is going through some HUGE life changes right now, and I’m just lazy.  I’m going to get back into posting more regularly in hopes of at least doubling the stats for our second blogiversary!

I’ve also been throwing around the idea of redoing the photos for some of my recipes.  I’ve learned a lot about photography over the past year… the most important being what white balance is!

Is there anything else that we’re missing?  What else would you recommend we do to make our blog as awesome as it can be?

I wish I had a big, delicious, beautiful cake to post for this occasion.  I don’t.  Instead, I thought it would be fitting to post a recipe for one of my favorite foods: macaroni and cheese.  I love trying different recipes and experimenting with ingredients.  This recipe from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe was amazing, especially since it’s made in only one pan.  I hate cleanup, so the less pans, the happier I am.  It might quickly become my new go-to mac and cheese recipe.

One Pan Mac And Cheese - Om Nomalicious

One Pan Mac and Cheese

3 1/2 Cups Water
1 12 Ounce Can Evaporated Milk
12 Ounces Pasta
2 Cups Frozen Peas, Optional
1 tsp Cornstarch
1/2 tsp Ground Mustard
1/4 tsp Hot Sauce, More or Less to Taste
1 Cup Shredded Cheddar Cheese
1 Cup Shredded Colby Jack Cheese
1/4 Cup Grated Parmesan Cheese
2 Tbsp Butter
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Start by combining the water, half the can of evaporated milk, the pasta, and the frozen veggies, if you’re using them, in a large skillet.  Season with salt and pepper, and bring to a strong boil.  Lower the heat and cook for about 10 minutes, or until the pasta is tender and sauce is thickened.

One Pan Mac And Cheese - Om Nomalicious

Meanwhile, mix the remaining evaporated milk with the cornstarch, ground mustard, and hot sauce.  Stir this mixture into the pasta, and allow it to took about a minute to thicken up a bit.

One Pan Mac And Cheese - Om Nomalicious

Remove the skillet from your heat source and stir in the cheese, butter, and any additional salt and pepper you feel is needed.

One Pan Mac And Cheese - Om Nomalicious

One Pan Mac And Cheese - Om Nomalicious

Serve hot and enjoy!

One Pan Mac And Cheese - Om Nomalicious
See? One pan, easy, quick, super creamy, and delicious… what is there not to like?!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to One Pan Mac and Cheese

  1. Angie says:

    My mouth is watering looking at this photo!!!!! Congratulations on your one year blogiversary, keep it up you are keeping my family happy. :D :D

  2. YUM! hot sauce in Mac N Cheese sounds tasty – never thought of that!

    • pamasaurus says:

      It’s delicious! I mix it in while cooking, but I add more to mine after I’m done. It works since the kid is spice sensitive!

      Oh! That Chicken Francese that I made the other week was DELICIOUS. You had asked about it, and I forgot until right now ;) My brain doesn’t work sometimes.

  3. Pingback: Witty Wednesday and Wine | Angies Grapevine

  4. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Favorite Color | Pa-BLAM!

  5. Dave says:

    Ha, my one year “blogiversary” too… good job hangin’ in there and, whew, lots of great posts, you two!

  6. I find this very tasty Recipe, thank you my friend for recipe sharing and stopping by in my blog.

  7. Happy birthday! You are doing great (2000 views each!) keep up the good work :)

  8. Congrats on the blogiversary! Many happy returns! I know I’ll be returning many times for the yums! :D

  9. Happy Anniversary!!! :-)

  10. Jess says:

    Happy Blogiversary! Homemade mac n cheese is the BEST!

  11. Oh, how I want this right now. I think it’s very fitting for such an anniversary. Congrats on a year of blogging!

  12. Happy Blogiversary my friend – this looks too delicious :D

    Cheers
    CCU

  13. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #37 | Pa-BLAM!

  14. The photos make me want to cook everything and then EAT some!!!

  15. msdulce says:

    I just made your recipe for dinner! I’ve been looking forward to making it since seeing this post. It garnered two thumbs up from the Mr, we both ate too much, and now we feel a little sick from irresponsible eating… you know it’s a good recipe when the tummy ache is totally worth it. :)

    • pamasaurus says:

      Oh, yay! So glad you liked it! It was super easy, right? Now I want some mac and cheese ;)

      • msdulce says:

        It WAS super easy! Even for a cooking amateur like me (I get frustrated boiling eggs), which is saying a lot. ;)

      • pamasaurus says:

        Did you read my post about the boiled eggs? Just the other day I forgot I was boiling eggs and left them on the stove for 40 minutes. Thankfully, they were fine. Oops.

  16. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #40 | Pa-BLAM!

  17. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #42 | Pa-BLAM!

  18. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #47 | Pa-BLAM!

  19. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #48 | Pa-BLAM!

  20. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #69 | Pa-BLAM!

  21. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #90 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

