Cream Of Anything Soup

I should make a list of things I never thought about before I joined Pinterest.  Number one would be “making my own cream of mushroom (Chicken? Celery? Anything?) soup.”

I mean, sure I switched to the reduced fat/reduced sodium kind, but it’s still not exactly the healthiest thing.  I just always thought it was something I would just have to deal with.  Well, that was until I came across this recipe.

I rushed out, bought the ingredients, and mixed up a batch.  I keep it in an airtight container in my refrigerator.  That way, I always have some on hand for when I need it..

Cream Of Anything Soup from Om Nomalicious - Never use canned soup again!

I ran the recipe through a recipe analyzer, and it has less fat, calories, and sodium than even the reduced fat and sodium canned cream of chicken soup.  I’m pretty excited by this.

I also happen to think it tastes amazing in recipes!

Cream of Anything Soup

2 Cups Non-Fat Powdered Milk
¾ Cup Cornstarch
¼ Cup Bouillon Granules (Chicken, Beef, Vegetable, Whatever You Want.)
2 Tbsp Dried Onion Flakes
1 tsp Dried Basil
1 tsp Garlic Powder
1 tsp Thyme
½ tsp Black Pepper

Combine all ingredients, put in an airtight container, and store in the refrigerator or freezer.

When you’re ready to use it, mix 1/3 cup of the dry mix with 1 ¼ cup of water in a small saucepan.  Over medium heat, bring it to a boil and let boil for one minute.  Remove from heat and use it just like you would the canned variety.

You could add just about anything to this soup to give it more flavor, but I think it works fine as it is.

Cream Of Anything Soup from Om Nomalicious - Never use canned soup again!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, soup and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Cream Of Anything Soup

  1. Pingback: omnomalicious

  2. Pingback: Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole | omnomalicious

  3. Pingback: Crock Pot Bacon Cheddar Potatoes | omnomalicious

  4. Pingback: Skinny Tuna Noodle Casserole | omnomalicious

  5. This is such a great recipe, I can easily replace the bullion with Herb-ox no sodium bullion and make a great no sodium version of this that will help enhance many of my no sodium creations! Thanks

  6. Pingback: Creamy Cauliflower and Kielbasa | omnomalicious

  7. Pingback: Spinach and Artichoke Casserole | omnomalicious

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #5 « Love, Harmony, Peace

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #6 | Love, Harmony, Peace

  10. Pingback: Recipe: Chicken Broccoli Casserole | Love, Harmony, Peace

  11. This is great Pam! I can’t believe I missed it the first time!

Leave a Reply

