Easy Whole Wheat Chocolate Cake

My husband’s birthday was about a month ago.  What’s a birthday without cake, right?  The problem was, I had just started my ‘new healthy lifestyle’ less than a month before.

Normally, I’d have no issue with eating a lighter lunch to ensure a slice of cake wouldn’t put me over my calories.  Daniel, however, had requested several non-diet friendly meals for that day.  He wanted cheesy breakfast burritos, pulled pork sandwiches, and lasagna.  I did my best to make each of those meals as healthy as I could, but I can only do so much.

That’s why I went in search of a healthy cake.  It seems like it shouldn’t be possible, right?  Well, I found one, Eating Well’s One Bowl Chocolate Cake.

I made one small change to the recipe and added some frosting.  It was DELCIOUS!  I’m definitely keeping this recipe on deck for the next time I need a quick, awesome, chocolate cake!!

Easy Whole Wheat Chocolate Cake from Om Nomalicious

I never claimed to be a photographer or a cake decorator.

Easy Whole Wheat Chocolate Cake

¾ Cup Whole-Wheat Flour
½ Cup Sugar
1/3 Cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
1 tsp Baking Powder
1 tsp Baking Soda
¼ tsp Salt
½ Cup Nonfat Buttermilk
½ Cup Packed Light Brown Sugar
1 Large Egg, beaten
2 Tbsp Applesauce
1 tsp Vanilla
½ Cup Strongly Brewed Black Coffee

Preheat oven to 350F and spray a 9 inch round cake pan or spring form pan with baking spray.

In large bowl, stir together flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Add buttermilk, brown sugar, egg, applesauce, and vanilla.  Beat with an electric mixer on medium speed for two minutes.  Pour in the hot coffee and beat to blend.   That batter will be a lot thinner than normal cake batters.

Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 30-35 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cool in pan for 10 minutes and remove it from pan.  Let cake cool completely before decorating.

Easy Whole Wheat Chocolate Cake from Om Nomalicious

The original recipe listed whole-wheat pastry flour instead of regular.  Apparently using regular whole-wheat flour makes it tough and chewy.  Well, I already had regular whole-wheat flour on hand.  I just used that and didn’t have any issue with the texture of the cake.

Also, I replaced the oil in the original recipe with applesauce to lower the calories and fat a bit.  You could easily use 2 Tbsp of vegetable oil instead.

I had originally planned to make low calorie cream cheese frosting for this cake.  It was a complete failure, though.  Ugh, probably the grossest frosting I’ve ever tasted!!  I had a pouch of squeezable icing leftover from something else, and I just used instead.  I think this would be perfectly fine served as they do in the original recipe: with just a dusting of powdered sugar.  It was also great with a little icing.  It’s all up to you.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easy Whole Wheat Chocolate Cake

  1. Nikhil Mendes says:

    very nice….one query….can i add more cocoa powder to the batter to get a rich dark brown color?

Leave a Reply

