English Muffin Bread

The other day, I had an urge to bake my own bread.  I’ve made banana bread, cinnamon bread, and other sweet quick breads, but I had never used yeast before.  I’ve always been afraid of it, I guess.  It just seemed too complicated; there were too many ways I could mess it up.

I finally decided to man up and do it.  It was time to stop making excuses.  It was time for action.

So, I started searching the interwebs for recipes, and settled on this one for English Muffin Bread from King Arthur’s Flour.

I made my grocery list and headed to the store.  I must have stood in the aisle forever trying to decide which kind to get.  There was active dry yeast, pizza dough yeast, and rapid rise yeast.  No instant yeast.  After about 10 minutes of debating, I settled on the rapid rise yeast.

I did some research when I returned home, but that just made me even more confused about the types of yeast.  The bread turned out amazing, though, so I guess I picked the right kind.  Haha.

I used some whole wheat flour instead of just all white flour.  It was delicious.

English Muffin Bread from Om Nomalicious

English Muffin Bread

2 Cups All-Purpose Flour
1 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
1 ½ tsp Salt
¼ tsp Baking Soda
1 Tbsp Rapid Rise Yeast (Instant Yeast?)
1 Cup Milk
¼ Cup Water
2 Tbsp Olive Oil (or Vegetable Oil)
¼ Cup Cornmeal, To Sprinkle In Pan

In a large mixing bowl, stir together the flours, salt, baking soda, and yeast.

In a microwave-safe bowl, stir the milk, oil, and water together.  Microwave until the liquids are between 120F and 130F.  Make sure to stir before using the thermometer for an accurate measurement.  I had mine in the microwave for 2 minutes, and it was perfect.

If you don’t have a thermometer, the original recipe says that the liquid will “will feel quite hot (hotter than lukewarm), but not so hot that it would be uncomfortable as bath water.”

Pour the liquids onto the dry and beat with an electric mixer, on high, for 1 minute.

Lightly grease loaf pan, and sprinkle the sides and bottom with cornmeal.

Scoop the dough into the pan.  It’s going to be really sticky.  Use a rubber scrapper that has been sprayed with cooking spray to even out the top of the loaf.

Cover with plastic wrap, and let the dough rise until it’s just over the top of the pan.  It shouldn’t be more than ¼ inch above the rim of the pan.  This should take between 45 minutes and 1 hour.

While you’re waiting for the dough to rise, preheat your oven to 400F.

Remove the plastic wrap and bake for 22-27 minutes, until it’s golden brown and the internal temperature is 190F.  I left mine in for 25 minutes, and the temp was a little high (198F).  That didn’t seem to have any adverse effects, though.

Let cool in the loaf pan for 5 minutes.  Then remove it from pan and let cool on a wire rack.  Enjoy.

English Muffin Bread from Om Nomalicious

English Muffin Bread from Om Nomalicious

I feel like this would be so much easier with a Kitchenaid stand mixer… or I’m just saying that because I really want one.  While I was beating the dough, it kinda sorta got jammed up in the sockets for the beaters.  I had to use q-tips to get it out.

English Muffin Bread from Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in bread and breakfast, recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to English Muffin Bread

  1. Pingback: Homemade Soft Pretzels | omnomalicious

  2. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Textures | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

