Homemade Cream Style Corn

I grew up in a house that was on a pretty tight budget.  We ate a lot of canned vegetables because they were so much cheaper than fresh, or even frozen, vegetables.  My favorite was cream style corn.  It really is not the healthiest thing ever, but it was delicious!

My love of cream style corn is another trait that I have passed to my daughter.  She could eat a whole can if given that chance!

When I started this new healthy lifestyle, I knew I had to attempt to make my own.  I looked up recipes, and found TONS of different variations.  All the delicious ones were not very healthy, and all the healthy ones did not sound too yummy.  So, I added things together to create this amazing recipe.

Homemade Cream Style Corn - Om Nomalicious

Homemade Cream Style Corn

4 Cups Frozen Corn
3 Tbsp Butter
3 Tbsp Flour
2 tsp Sugar
1 ½ Cup Milk
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Melt butter in a medium skillet.  Add the corn.

Homemade Cream Style Corn - Om Nomalicious

 

Homemade Cream Style Corn - Om Nomalicious

While the corn is heating, mix together the flour, sugar, and milk.  Season mixture with salt and pepper.

Homemade Cream Style Corn - Om Nomalicious

Pour mixture over the corn and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to low, and allow corn to simmer for 15 minutes.

Homemade Cream Style Corn - Om Nomalicious

 

Homemade Cream Style Corn - Om Nomalicious

Remove from heat.  Sauce will be thin, but it will thicken when it cools down a little.

Homemade Cream Style Corn - Om Nomalicious

Enjoy.

This can definitely be made with fresh corn.  Just cut the kernels off 6 ears of corn and follow the recipe.  You may have to increase the cook time, depending on how soft you like your corn.

I really think this would be delicious with some cayenne or chipotle pepper powder.  Trinity isn’t a huge fan of spice, though, so I left it out.

I used skim milk and light country crock, and it still turned out delicious!!  It made about 8 half cup servings with around 110 calories each.  That’s about the same as both the canned and the frozen, but the sodium is a lot lower!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, side dish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Homemade Cream Style Corn

  1. trinity says:

    I really loved it! ❤

  2. Susan says:

    I’m trying to find ways to avoid using canned food whenever possible. I found this recipe last night, and it looked to me to be the best representation of the canned version, at least from an ingredients perspective. We absolutely loved it. I’m sure this goes without saying, but it blows the canned version out of the water. And it was so easy and quick! I used about 3-1/2 cups of corn just to increase the cream to corn ratio a bit. Thanks for a recipe that will become a standard in our home!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks so much! I’m so glad you enjoyed this recipe. Canned food is soooo high in sodium, so we’ve been cutting back as well.

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday! | Pa-BLAM!

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #36 | Pa-BLAM!

  5. Ashley Hill says:

    i know this article is fairly old but i tried this tonight and I absolutely loved it! Thanks for taking the intimidation out of making creamed corn!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Oh, yay! So glad I could help and that you loved it! Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to let me know!

  6. Lakeyia says:

    I just made this recipe, not only does it smells good but it taste great. Thanks!!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #67 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Paula says:

    I might try making a little extra and taking about 1/3 of it and putting in food processor and pureeing it and adding it into the rest….

  9. Would you say this is the equivalent to a can or more or less? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

