Homemade Soft Pretzels

So, I had leftover yeast from when I made English Muffin Bread. I’ve been trying to decide what to make with it, and finally decided on soft pretzels.

Cinnamon-sugar soft pretzels are one of my favorite things. Well, cinnamon anything is one of my favorite things, but soft pretzels are up there, too!  Plus, this recipe from Alton Brown seemed challenging. I’m always up for a cooking challenge! It turned out to be pretty easy, just time consuming.

My husband had a good laugh when I announced that they ‘tasted like real soft pretzels.’

I did half of mine with an egg wash and salt and the other half with butter and cinnamon sugar. Both variations were amazing!

Photobucket

Homemade Soft Pretzels

1 ½ Cups Warm Water (Between 110F and 115F)
1 Tbsp Sugar
2 tsp Salt
1 Packet Active Dry Yeast
4 ½ Cups All-Purpose Flour
4 Tbsp Unsalted Butter
1 Tbsp Vegetable Oil
2/3 Cup Baking Soda
10 Cups Water

For Salted Pretzel:
1 Large Egg Yolk, Beaten With 1 Tbsp Water
1 Tbsp Pretzel Salt

For Cinnamon-Sugar Pretzel:
1 Tbsp Butter
1 tsp Cinnamon
2 Tbsp Sugar

Combine warm water, sugar, salt, and yeast in a bowl. Let sit for about 5 minutes, until the mixture gets a little foamy.

Add the flour and butter to yeast mixture. Using a dough hook attachment, mix on low speed until well combined. Then, mix on medium speed for about five minutes, until the dough is smooth and pulls away from the bowl.

Remove the dough from the bowl and wipe it out. Oil bowl with the vegetable oil, and put the dough back in it. Cover with plastic wrap, and let it sit for 50-55 minutes. The dough should double in size.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Preheat oven to 450F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and spray with cooking spray. Add the 10 cups of water and baking soda to a large saucepan, and bring to a rolling boil.

Photobucket

Meanwhile, you can divide the dough into 8 equal pieces. Roll each piece out into a long rope. You can make a traditional pretzel with this, but I decided to make pretzel bites. I cut each rope into 12 pieces.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Put the pretzels into the boiling water, about 12 at a time, and allow to cook for at least 30 seconds. I left mine in a bit longer because I kept getting sidetracked, and they were fine.

Photobucket

I used my awesome Pampered Chef Skimmer, but you can use a slotted spoon or spatula to scoop them out. You could even use a regular cooking spoon and just put them in a strainer.

Photobucket

Arrange them on the prepared baking sheets. I brushed half of them with the yolk/water mixture and sprinkled with sea salt.

Photobucket

I didn’t have pretzel salt, so I just used large grain sea salt that I had leftover from my failed attempt at salted caramel sauce. It says ‘fine’ but the grains are MUCH larger than regular salt.

Photobucket

Photobucket

The other half went in the oven straight out of the boiling water.

Bake the bites for 10-12 minutes. If you made large pretzels, increase that to 12-14 minutes.

Once they’re golden brown, pull them out of the oven. Allow the salted variety to cool, and they’re ready to go.

Photobucket

I brushed the remaining bites with melted butter and sprinkled them with a mixture of cinnamon and sugar.

Photobucket

Photobucket

That’s it. They were YUM!

Photobucket

I ran them through the recipe analyzer on calorie count. The salted bites have about 150 calories for a serving of 6 bites. The cinnamon-sugar ones were a little higher at 180 for the same size serving.

Just a little head up, this makes a lot! It made 48 bites of each variety.

I should let you know that this would probably be much much easier with a stand mixer.  I only have a hand mixer.  I ran into the same issue I had with the English Muffin Bread.  The dough got caught in the beater sockets, and I had to clean it out with a q-tip.  One day this won’t be an issue for me anymore.  One day.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, snacks and appetizers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

