Pulled Chicken Egg Rolls

A few months ago, I made barbecue chicken ravioli.  They were pretty delicious, but something was missing, something I couldn’t put my finger on.

After months of pondering, I finally figured out that I secretly wished they tasted like a pulled barbecue sandwich, complete with Pittsburgh style coleslaw and cheese, kind of like a Primanti Bros Sandwich.

So, what was missing was a whole bunch of deliciousness.  I thought about making raviolis like this, but that would definitely be too much filling.  It finally hit me that this would be perfect in an egg roll!

I dreamed about this for a while before I finally decided to give it a try.  It’s not fun being hungry for a food that you’ve never even heard of, haha.

Baked Pulled Chicken Egg Rolls from Om Nomalicious

Pulled Chicken Egg Rolls 

1 lb Boneless Chicken Breast
½ Cup Barbecue Sauce
1 Cup Shredded Reduced Fat Cheddar Cheese
8 oz Bagged Coleslaw Mix
¼ Cup Apple Cider Vinegar
2 Tbsp Sugar
2 Tbsp Canola Oil
Salt & Pepper, To Taste
1 1lb Package of Egg Roll Wrappers (About 20 Wrappers)

I started by poaching the chicken.  You could really cook the chicken any way you desire.  I just find this to be the best way to get really tender chicken.

Place the chicken in a single layer on the bottom of a pan and add water so it is about1 inchabove the chicken.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low, and allow it to slow to barely a boil.  Cover the pan and let simmer for 10 minutes.  Remove from heat, and let rest, still covered, for 15-20 more minutes.  Remove from the water and allow to cool.

While the chicken is cooling, mix the apple cider vinegar, sugar, canola oil, and some salt and pepper together in a mixing bowl.  Add the coleslaw mix, and toss until coated.  I had a 16oz bag, so I used half.  You could easily just double the recipe and have left over coleslaw.

Baked Pulled Chicken Egg Rolls from Om Nomalicious

Once the chicken is cool, shred it.  Then add the barbecue sauce.  Stir until all the chicken is coated.  You can use any type of barbecue sauce you want.  I used Kraft Original, just because it’s what I had on hand.

Baked Pulled Chicken Egg Rolls from Om Nomalicious

Now it’s time to assemble the egg rolls.  Lay out your egg roll wrappers.  Place about 2 tablespoons of chicken on the lower 1/3 of the wrapper.  Place about 2 tablespoons of coleslaw on top of that, followed by ½ tablespoon of cheese.

Baked Pulled Chicken Egg Rolls from Om Nomalicious

Fold the sides of the wrapper in and carefully roll into an egg roll shape.  Place seam side down on a sprayed baking sheet.

Baked Pulled Chicken Egg Rolls from Om Nomalicious

Bake at 425F for 15-20 minutes, or until they are golden brown.

Baked Pulled Chicken Egg Rolls from Om Nomalicious

YUMMMMM!  These were DELCIOUS.  Trinity enjoyed them dipped in ranch dressing, which prompted me to try that as well.  I think that was the final touch that pushed these from ‘really good’ to ‘amazing!!!’

You could fry these, but I’m trying to be healthier.  I bet they’d be absolutely amazing that way!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, snacks and appetizers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pulled Chicken Egg Rolls

  1. Heather H. says:

    Can I try this without the slaw? Or substitute with something?

    • pamasaurus says:

      I assume it would still taste amazing without it. I was just looking for a certain flavor, and it kind of mimics the filling in a real egg roll.

      If you wanted to substitute because you don’t like slaw, maybe just add some shredded carrots, some broccoli slaw, or whatever you can think of!

  2. Carla says:

    Oh this sounds really good! Wish I had these in front of me right now.

  3. Stacy says:

    That’s brilliant, Pam! And I love that you’ve baked them instead of frying. So much easier!

Leave a Reply

