Rice Pilaf

I’ve always had issues cooking rice. I don’t know what it is, but it would either be still crunchy or burnt to the bottom of the pan. So, what’s the secret? How do you make perfect rice? Well, keep reading and I’ll tell you!

This is my go-to recipe whenever I need a side dish. It’s super versatile. Just a few small changes and it’s a completely different dish!!

rice pilaf - om nomalicious

Rice Pilaf

1 Cup Long Grain Enriched Rice
1 Tbsp Butter (I use Country Crock)
2 Cups Broth or Stock (Any Flavor You Desire)
1 Cup Frozen Mixed Vegetables
Seasoning Salt, To Taste

In a medium skillet, melt butter over medium-high heat. Add rice and sauté for 3 minutes. Add vegetables, and continue cooking for an additional 3 minutes.

rice pilaf - om nomalicious

rice pilaf - om nomalicious

Slowly stir in the broth and bring to a boil. Turn heat to medium-low and let simmer for five minutes.

Cover, turn the heat to low, and let cook for 20 minutes. Do not remove the lid for any reason. Once the 20 minutes are up, remove from heat and let sit for 10 additional minutes without removing the lid.

rice pilaf - om nomalicious

Once the time is up, remove the lid and fluff it with a fork.

rice pilaf - om nomalicious

Enjoy.

rice pilaf - om nomalicious

I said this was versatile. You could use any vegetable you wanted. If you’re using fresh, you probably should cook it before adding the rice. You can also switch up the seasoning to give it a different taste.

If I want a Latin style rice, I’ll use sweet peppers and sazon seasoning. Southwest? Add some roasted corn and chili seasoning. See? Super easy!

What are you waiting for? Go experiment and find your favorite flavor combination already! Then come back and let me know what you used.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, side dish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rice Pilaf

  1. Pingback: Crock Pot Orange Chicken | omnomalicious

  2. I just happened to findcome across your site and your write up Rice Pilaf | omnomalicious. The words you provide really makes me think. Thanks for writing the article.

  3. Pingback: Chile Lime Chicken | omnomalicious

  4. Pingback: Sweet and Sour Chicken | omnomalicious

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #21 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

