Meyer Lemon Ricotta Cupcakes with White Chocolate Buttercream

Photobucket

So… my birthday was Saturday.  I don’t eat a lot of cake, but I knew I had to make awesome cupcakes to celebrate.

I know what you’re thinking.  Yes, I made my own birthday cake.  You have to remember that my husband can burn water.  I couldn’t leave the task in his hands.  I would either end up with some kind of inedible attempt at homemade cake or something store bought.  No, thank you.

Besides, I still had a whole bunch of Meyer lemons left over from my Meyer Lemon Ricotta Pancakes.  I had to use them before they spoiled!

I decided on these cupcakes from Matt Bites as a starting point, because, well, I love white chocolate, and I had some ricotta cheese in my fridge that needed to be used as well.

They were delicious.  My Mom and Aunt were in town.  Between the five of us, we ate all of them in two days.  Yeah.  My ‘diet’ went out the window this weekend.

Photobucket

Meyer Lemon Ricotta Cupcakes with White Chocolate Buttercream
 
For Cupcakes:

2 Cups All-Purpose Flour
1 ½ tsp Baking Powder
¼ tsp Salt
1 ½ Cups Sugar
2 Egg Whites
½ Cups Ricotta
1/3 Cup Butter
1 Cup Buttermilk
1 tsp Lemon Extract
2 Meyer Lemons, Juiced and Zested

For Buttercream:

3 Cups Powdered Sugar
1 Cup (2 Sticks) Unsalted Butter
2 Tbsp Heavy Cream
4 Ounces Baker’s White Chocolate
1 tsp Lemon Extract

Preheat oven to 350F. Mix together flour, baking powder, and salt.

Photobucket

Mix together the ricotta, melted butter, butter milk, and sugar.

Photobucket

Add liquid to dry ingredients.

Photobucket

With hand mixer or whisk, mix egg whites until they form soft peaks <link>.  Carefully fold egg whites, zest, juice, and extract into batter.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Line muffin pan with cupcake liners, and fill each cup about 2/3 full with batter.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Bake about 20-25 minutes, or until they turn light golden brown and a toothpick, when inserted into the center of a cupcake, comes out clean.

Photobucket

Let cool completely before decorating.

For the frosting, cut butter into little pieces, and put it in a mixing bowl with sugar.  Beat on low speed until combined, about two minutes.

Photobucket

Add the heavy cream and continue beating mixture until smooth.

Photobucket

Melt the chocolate in microwave or double boiler.  Slowly add, along with the lemon extract, to buttercream mixture and continue beating.

Photobucket

When the cupcakes are completely cooled, ice them with the buttercream.  Enjoy.

Photobucket

I ended up with 18 cupcakes with this recipe.  The one I used as a starting point stated that it made 12.  So, in theory, you should end up with somewhere between 12 and 18 cupcakes.

Photobucket

I decorated mine with some green sprinkles I had on hand.  Green is my favorite color, and they matched the cupcake liners.  You can decorate them however you want; sprinkles, shaved white chocolate, powdered sugar, whatever.

If you don’t have buttermilk on hand, you can always substitute it by putting about 1 Tbsp of white vinegar or lemon juice in a measuring cup, then filling it up to the one cup mark with milk.  I’ve done this before, and it works really well.

I still have about 6 Meyer Lemons left.  I guess I need to figure out some healthier ways to use them now.  As always, I’m open to suggestions.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

