Shepherd’s Pie

Today is Pi Day.  3.14.  I just ate a million cupcakes.  I’m not about to make a pie to add to the diet cheating.  So, instead I made Shepherd’s Pie.

What?  It has ‘pie’ in the name!  Don’t look at me like that!

Shepherd’s pie is one of those classic meals that everyone should know how to make.

Wait.  What?  Is that really true?

Then, something must be wrong with me, because the first time I tried this was about two years ago.  Daniel’s mother made it for us when we visited them in Maine.  I came home with a recipe but knew I had to simplify and skinny-fy it.

In my opinion, the fewer ingredients and easier the recipe, the better.  I’m busy and can’t make complicated gourmet meals every night.

Shepherd's Pie from Om Nomalicious

This turned out amazing, absolutely delicious!  We had no leftovers!

Shepherd's Pie from Om Nomalicious

Shepherd’s Pie
 
For Potatoes:

1.5 lbsRusset Potatoes
1 Cup Chicken Broth
¼ Cup Fat Free Sour Cream
½ tsp Paprika
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

For Filling:

1 lb Lean Ground Turkey or Beef
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
16 oz Frozen Mixed Vegetables (1 Bag)
1 Cup Chicken Broth
2 Tbsp Tomato Paste
1 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
1/4 tsp Dried Rosemary
1/4 tsp Dried Thyme
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Boil potatoes.  Drain them and mash with broth, sour cream, and spices.

Heat oil in skillet.  Brown turkey, season with salt and pepper, and add mixed vegetables.  Allow to cook until vegetables are hot.  Add flour and mix well.

In a bowl, stir together broth, tomato paste, Worcestershire sauce, and spices.  Pour over turkey and vegetables and let simmer on low for about 5 minutes.

Spread the meat and vegetable mixture on the bottom of a sprayed baking dish.  Top with mashed potatoes.  I sprinkled a little extra paprika on mine.  That’s totally optional, though.

Bake at 400F for 20 minutes.  Let rest for 10-15 minutes before serving.

Shepherd's Pie from Om Nomalicious

Enjoy.

Shepherd's Pie from Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

Shepherd's Pie from Om Nomalicious

pami signature

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Shepherd’s Pie

  1. Heather H. says:

    I make mine SO different!

  2. pamasaurus says:

    Really? How do you make yours?

    I think shepherd’s pie is one of those things that can be made a million different ways. It all depends on what area you are from.

  3. Jecca says:

    I was just thinking how I make mine so much different too.. Mine has the veggies in it, but I add a can of minestrone soup in for flavor and bake that with the veggies and meat like a meatloaf. When that’s done I top it with masked potato’s and cheese and bake until the cheese is melted. 😀

  4. pamasaurus says:

    The broth in mine is similar to the broth of minestrone soup, actually. Yours would just have a little more vegges and the noodles. Do you mix the veggies, soup, and meat into an actual meatloaf? I don’t know if I’d like that, as there wouldn’t be any sauce to use as gravy for the potatoes like mine has :/

    I like the cheese idea, but that would definitely add more calories! What kind of cheese do you use and how much??

    I was looking up variations, and there’s a TON of different ways to make it. Apparently a lot of US versions include a layer of baked beans between the meat and the potatoes! That sounds… interesting. I’m not sure I know how I feel about that, actually.

    • Jecca says:

      Yes, you mix it all up and make it into a meatloaf. There isn’t a gravy, but the meat is still juicy and the potato’s and the cheese melt together to make it nom. I usually use cheddar cheese on top or a mix of Italian cheeses. It really depends on my mood. Sometimes I add chives and sour cream to the potato’s too. 🙂

      I don’t think I would like baked beans in it.. That just seems.. Odd! LOL.

      • pamasaurus says:

        Interesting. I’ve definitely made meatloaf cupcakes with mashed potato icing, which are similar to your shepherd’s pie, minus the vegetables and soup.

        Meh, I’m not sure how I feel about it. I’ve learned that just because something sounds weird doesn’t mean it’s gross… I don’t know if I’d ever make it, but if someone served it, I’d definitely try it. Ya know?

        My point was, there are thousands of variations on this. None of them are wrong. Just different 😀

      • pamasaurus says:

        LOLOLOL! In all my googling about Shepherd’s pie, I found that it’s really only called shepherd’s pie if it’s made with LAMB. Beef/turkey/whatever else is called cottage pie.

        So, in reality, we’re all doing it wrong!

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #4 | Pa-BLAM!

  6. Pingback: Jecca’s Shepard’s Pie | omnomalicious

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #34 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #38 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #51 | Pa-BLAM!

  10. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #63 | Pa-BLAM!

  11. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #87 | Pa-BLAM!

  12. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #93 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

