Chicken, Bacon, Ranch Mac and Cheese

Who doesn’t love mac and cheese? I know that my family LOVES it. As I’ve mentioned before, cheese is one of my top three favorite foods. It’s no wonder that I enjoy this gooey, cheesy dish!

It doesn’t really fit in with my new healthy lifestyle, though. That makes me sad in the face. I had to find a way to make it somewhat healthier! That’s when I discovered that using pureed butternut squash in the sauce will make it creamier while allowing you to use less cheese.

This recipe was somewhat inspired by this one. Basically, I just saw the name and decided to create my own. What I came up with was ah-mazing!

Photobucket

Chicken, Bacon, Ranch Mac And Cheese

12oz (1 Box) Ronzoni Smart Taste Rotini
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 lb Boneless Chicken Breast
9 Slices Turkey Bacon
3 Cups Frozen Broccoli
2 Tbsp Butter
3 Tbsp Flour
2 Cups Milk
1 Cup Chicken Broth (Or Vegetable)
1 12oz Package Frozen Pureed Butternut Squash
¼ Cup Parmesan Cheese
½ Cup Mozzarella Cheese
1 Cup Cheddar Cheese
1 Packet Ranch Seasoning

Bring a huge pot of water to boil. Cook pasta according to package directions.

Photobucket

While pasta is cooking, cut chicken and bacon into bite size pieces. Heat olive oil in large skillet, add chicken and bacon. Cook until chicken is done, about 6 minutes.

Melt butter in a saucepan. Whisk in flour and let cook for 2 minutes. Slowly whisk in milk, broth, butternut squash, and ranch seasoning. Bring to a boil, and cook for 1-2 minutes. Remove from heat and slowly whisk in cheeses.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Mix pasta, chicken, bacon, broccoli, and sauce together and pour into a baking dish.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Bake at 350F for 20 to 30 minutes, until it’s bubby and delicious looking!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Those are just the three types of cheese I used this time. You could definitely switch it up and use whatever. I’ve even made this with ricotta once! It’s really all up to what you like or what you have on hand.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chicken, Bacon, Ranch Mac and Cheese

  1. Jecca says:

    That looks Delicious!!

  2. pamasaurus says:

    Thanks! It was 😀

  3. I almost made a bacon mac n cheese for dinner tonight. The addition of butternut squash is interesting, I will have to try it out. Does it make it sweet?

    • pamasaurus says:

      It barely changes the flavor at all. I’ve made plain mac and cheese with a squash base for a family picnic. I didn’t tell anyone. They didn’t notice. In fact, they all said it was delicious 😉

      I think it just makes the sauce creamier 😀 I’m always looking for ways to sneak veggies into things, haha.

  4. I include cheese in my top favorite foods list as well! My top 3 are ice cream, pizza, and cheese. Of course they are all nonconducive to a diet, but I find that I can’t stay away! This recipe sounds DELISH! I’m going to add it to my “good eats” pinterest board!

Leave a Reply

