Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole

Chicken Cordon Bleu is one of my favorite meals.  It’s such a pain to make, though.  I’ve done it a few times, but it’s definitely not something I like to do all the time.

I found a delicious recipe in an old Church cookbook I inherited from my grandmother.  You pound out the chicken, roll it up with Swiss cheese and ham, bread it, and cook it in a skillet.  It’s served with a quick and yummy cream sauce.  It’s just delicious!

That’s why I always order the chicken cordon bleu from the diner down the street.  They serve it with egg noodles and a cream sauce that is very similar to the one I make.

Last time I ordered it, I cut the chicken into pieces and mixed everything together.  That was the inspiration for a casserole; a way to enjoy Chicken Cordon Bleu without all the work.

Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole from Om Nomalicious

It was genius!

Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole from Om Nomalicious

 

Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole

12 oz Egg Noodles
1 lb Boneless Chicken Breast
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper, To Taste
2 Cans Cream Of Chicken Soup
1 ½ Cup Half and Half or Cream
6 Slices (4 oz) Swiss Cheese
¼ lb Deli Ham
2 Cups Frozen Peas
20 Saltines
2 Tbsp Butter, Melted

Bring a large pot of water to boil and cook the egg noodles according to package directions. I fully intended to buy No Yolks egg noodles for this, but got sidetracked by the Wacky Mac. This would definitely work with regular egg noodles, though.

While the noodles are cooking, cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces. Heat the oil in a medium skillet, and brown the chicken.

Whisk the cream of chicken soup and half and half together. I used cream of anything soup, and it worked perfectly.

Dice the ham into ¼ to ½ inch squares.

Once the pasta is done, mix it with the peas.  Spread half of this mixture into the bottom of a sprayed baking pan.  Pour about 1/3 of the sauce over the pasta.

Add a layer of the chicken, followed by the ham, then the cheese.

Spread the remainder of the noodles on top, followed by the rest of the sauce.

Crush the saltines, and mix them with the melted butter. Spread this mixture on the top of the casserole.

Bake at 350F for 30 minutes, or until hot and bubbly. Let stand 5 to 10 minutes for the sauce to thicken. Enjoy.

Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole from Om Nomalicious

My daughter made a comment about this being Chicken Cordon Bleu lasagna.  Imagine how awesome that would be!  Just replace the egg noodles with lasagna noodles.  Add more layers.  YUM! I might have to try this!!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole from Om Nomalicious

pami signature

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #80 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

