French Breakfast Puffs

Around Christmas, my Mother-In-Law gave a cookbook that her church put together. It contains family recipes from all the members, most of which sound delicious. I spent a long afternoon leafing through this book wondering what recipe I should start with.

Photobucket

Then my eyes landed on a recipe called French Breakfast Puffs. It appeared to be a muffin dipped in butter and a cinnamon/sugar mix. Who doesn’t love cinnamon? I knew that this was it. This was the recipe I had to make, with a few small changes, of course. I can never follow a recipe exactly.

So, I baked them. I don’t even know how to describe them. The muffin itself is light, fluffy, and moist. It’s just perfect. Add to that the buttery, cinnamon-y, sugary coating, and you have one of the most perfect foods.

Seriously. I ate about half the batch. It has to be good for me to throw my diet out the window like that!

Photobucket

French Breakfast Puffs

Muffin:

1/3 Cup Unsalted Butter
1/2 Cup Sugar
1 Large Egg
1 ½ tsp Baking Powder
½ tsp Baking Soda
1 ½ Cups All Purpose Flour
½ tsp Salt
¼ tsp Nutmeg
½ Cup Buttermilk
1 tsp Vanilla Extract

Coating:

1/3 Cup Butter, Melted
1 tsp Cinnamon
½ Cup Sugar

Heat oven to 350F and spray a muffin pan. I used a mini muffin pan that holds 24 muffins, and had enough batter left over to fill 4 regular sized muffins.

Mix butter and sugar with an electric mixer. Once smooth and fluffy, add egg and vanilla. Mix until combined.

In separate bowl, whisk together baking powder, baking soda, flour, salt, and nutmeg.

Add flour mixture to butter mixture 1/3 cup at a time, alternating with buttermilk, until everything is combined.

Fill the muffin cups 2/3 full. Bake standard sized muffins for 20-25 minutes and mini muffins for 10-14 minutes.

While the muffins are baking, melt 1/3 cup butter in a saucepan. Let it continue to cook, stirring frequently, until it starts to brown. Set aside.

In small bowl, combine sugar and cinnamon.

Once the muffins are cool enough to handle, but still hot, dip the tops in the browned butter then in the cinnamon/sugar mix. Repeat for all muffins.

Photobucket

If you’re feeling really naughty, you can roll the whole muffin in butter and cinnamon/sugar. I just wanted to try to limit calories a little bit.

They are best while still hot, but are still pretty nomalicious at room temperature.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in bread and breakfast, recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to French Breakfast Puffs

  1. Hey I think your blog is pretty nice. I found it on Yahoo

Leave a Reply

