Skinny Tuna Noodle Casserole

My child does not like seafood.  She doesn’t like fish, clams, crab, shrimp, anything that lives in the ocean.  Well, that is except for canned tuna.  She LOVES that stuff, and will eat it basically anyway she can get it.  One of her favorite dinners is tuna noodle casserole.

I’ve been making this recipe for years. I found it in the an issue of Taste of Home’s Healthy Cooking magazine; I don’t remember the date, though.  The recipe is definitely a winner!

The original recipe includes a topping that is made from breadcrumbs and butter.  I leave that off, though, because Daniel and Trinity do not enjoy it.  Hey, less calories!  I’m not going to complain!

Skinny Tuna Noodle Casserole from Om Nomalicious

Skinny Tuna Noodle Casserole

5 Cups Uncooked Egg Noodles (12 ozpackage)
1 Can Cream of Mushroom Soup (I used Cream of Anything Soup)
1 Cup Fat Free Sour Cream
2/3 Cup Grated Reduced Fat Parmesan Cheese
1/3 Cup Milk
¼ tsp Salt
2 Cans (5 ozeach) Water Packed Tuna, Drained
1 Cup Frozen Peas
¼ Cup Finely Chopped Onion

Cook noodles according to package directions.  While noodles are cooking, combine all other ingredients in a large mixing bowl.  Drain noodles and add them to soup mixture.

Pour the mixture into an sprayed 11×7 inch baking dish.

Bake, uncovered at 350F for 25-30 minutes, until browned at the top and bubbly.

Best part? One eighth of the pan has just under 300 calories. I know 1/8th doesn’t sound like much, but it filled my plate (and my tummy!!)!

YUM!!!!

Skinny Tuna Noodle Casserole from Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here.

Skinny Tuna Noodle Casserole from Om Nomalicious

pami signature

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, recipe, seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Skinny Tuna Noodle Casserole

  1. Hey, read your profile and I love tuna fish too! But then I love to eat everything from the ocean — i’m really part fish. This recipe is similar to what my mom used to make. I’m going to try same. Thanks. Cheers.

  2. Saylan says:

    My mom made this for me when I was little too. It was the only way I’d eat any fish or seafood. So nostalgic!

  3. I have been wanting to try a tuna noodle casserole, but I’m afraid it would taste too ‘fishy.’ Is there a lot of fishy flavor in this?

    • pamasaurus says:

      As someone that barely ever eats seafood, especially fish, I don’t find this to be fishy at all. Have you ever had canned tuna? It’s actually very mild. If you want, you can cut it back to 1 can of tuna instead of two. Then, if that doesn’t bother you, step it up to two if you make it again 😀 You could also replace the tuna with shredded chicken if you’d like.

      • I eat canned tuna rather often as tuna salad, but I just wasn’t sure how it’d be warm! I’m glad to know it’s pretty mild. I’ll definitely give the recipe a try sometime then! I have quite a stockpile of tuna right now. 🙂

  4. This sounds so good! I wish we could eat it 😦 I’ve been craving a good tuna casserole.

  5. teabagginit says:

    there’s something so comforting about casseroles. i’ve never liked creamy casseroles but if i subbed tomato sauce it’d be like baked spaghetti!

  6. Pingback: Spinach and Artichoke Casserole | omnomalicious

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #8 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #23 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #24 | Pa-BLAM!

  10. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #46 | Pa-BLAM!

  11. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #60 | Pa-BLAM!

  12. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #69 | Pa-BLAM!

  13. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #72 | Pa-BLAM!

  14. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #76 | Pa-BLAM!

  15. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #87 | Pa-BLAM!

  16. Stacy says:

    I lived on a similar dish when I was still a student on a limited income, but I love it still!

Leave a Reply

