Baked French Toast

I love to cook for a bunch of people, but breakfast can be difficult. I don’t want to slave over the stove cooking made-to-order omelets or eggs of different styles. I like to be able to serve everyone at once.

I usually end up making baked French toast. It’s delicious and easy. You can make it the night before, then just throw it in the oven. It’s perfect for serving large groups of people.

Plus, who doesn’t love French toast??

I used to use a recipe I pulled out of an old Church cookbook from my grandmother. It had 8 whole eggs and 1 cup of heavy cream. Do you know how many calories are in heavy cream?? Yeah, not exactly the best ‘diet’ food.

I had to fix it. I had to cut down on the calories. This is what I came up with.

Photobucket

Baked French Toast

1 (16oz) Loaf Italian Bread
2 Whole Eggs
1 Cup Egg Substitute
1 ½ Cup Milk
¼ tsp Salt
½ tsp Cinnamon
1 tsp Vanilla

Cut bread into 1 inch slices.

Photobucket

Spray a baking pan and arrange bread. You may have to smoosh them a little to make them all fit.

Photobucket

Mix remaining ingredients and pour over bread.

Photobucket

Cover and refrigerate for at least an hour. I usually make it the night before, and refrigerate overnight.

When you’re ready to bake it, pull it out of refrigerator and let it come to room temperate.

Bake at 350F for 40-50 minutes, or until the top of the bread is brown and puffed up.

Photobucket

Enjoy with whatever toppings you like! We had ours with butter and maple syrup.

Photobucket

The original recipe, when divided into 8 servings, had 343 calories. This new version has 185 calories per serving. That’s quite a dramatic difference!

You could have seconds or a side of bacon and not feel guilty.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here.

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in bread and breakfast, recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Baked French Toast

  1. this looks great, I’m going to have to try this next time I have a breakfast party!

  2. laurasatelier says:

    I love this recipe! can’t wait for tomorrow morning 🙂

  3. How much is one serving?

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #2 | Pa-BLAM!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: A Day In My Life | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

