Baked General Tso’s Chicken

I’m usually all about the easy, simple, fast recipes.  I love to cook, but I’m usually too busy to spend a lot of time in the kitchen everyday.  Every now and then, though, I have to give in and make something a little more complicated.  The extra effort is almost always worth it.

This is one of those recipes.  If you’re looking for fast and easy, you’re in the wrong spot.  If you’re looking for delicious, you’ve come to the right place.

I found this recipe for Baked General Tso’s Chicken from Food.com on Pinterest.  Where else do I find my recipes these days??

Baked General Tso's Chicken from Om Nomalicious

I cut this recipe back, because the three of us couldn’t possibly eat three pounds of chicken.  I also added some broccoli, because, well, I need to get vegetables in there somewhere!  You could probably add some bell peppers if you want to.

Baked General Tso's Chicken from Om Nomalicious

Baked General Tso’s Chicken

For chicken:

1 lb Boneless Chicken Breast
1 Egg
2 Tbsp Water
½ Cup Flour
¼ tsp Pepper
¼ tsp Cayenne Pepper
1 ½ Tbsp Ground Ginger
1 tsp Salt
1 Head of broccoli

For Sauce:

2 Tbsp Soy Sauce
2 Tbsp Rice Vinegar (White will work)
1/8 cup Water
1 Tbsp Sesame Oil
2 Tbsp Hot Chili Sauce
¼ tsp Salt
1 Tsp Cornstarch
2 Cloves Garlic, Minced
1.5 Tbsp Ground Ginger
½ Cup Sugar
¼ Cup Water

Whisk together egg and water in one bowl.  In another, stir flour, black pepper, cayenne pepper, ground ginger, and salt.

Cut the chicken into bite sized pieces.  Dredge in the egg wash, and then in the flour mixture.

Place on baking sheet and bake at 375F for 25-30 minutes, or until chicken is fully cooked.  Be sure to flip the chicken half way through.

While the chicken is baking, either steam or roast the broccoli.

The sauce has a caramel base.  So, make sure you stay close while it’s cooking, as it can burn easily.

In a small bowl, combine soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, 1/8 cup water, sesame oil, hot chili sauce, salt, corn starch, garlic, and ginger.  Set aside.

I should probably mention that I used sweet chili sauce.  I had it on hand, and my daughter is really sensitive to spice.  It still tasted amazing.

In a medium saucepan, combine sugar and ¼ cup water.

Boil over medium heat until it starts to turn a light amber color.  It’ll happen pretty quickly, so keep an eye on it!

Once it reaches that stage, add the sauce mixture to the pan.  Be careful because it may foam up a lot for a few seconds due to the high temperature.

Simmer for a few minutes.  Remove from heat and let cool slightly.

Toss sauce with chicken and broccoli.

Baked General Tso's Chicken from Om Nomalicious

I served this with rice pilaf, but you could serve it with whatever type of rice you prefer… or lo mein, perhaps.

Baked General Tso's Chicken from Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here.

Baked General Tso's Chicken from Om Nomalicious

pami signature

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Baked General Tso’s Chicken

  1. That looks amazing! I really need to go out for Asian food soon!

  2. theimaginationcollector says:

    this looks delicious.

  3. muddledmom says:

    This looks great! Thanks for sharing. General Tsos is one of my husband’s favorite dishes.

  4. Pingback: Oh yeah… | The Vampire Diet

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #43 | Pa-BLAM!

  6. Medeja says:

    Baked sounds like a very good option!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #87 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Stacy says:

    General Tso’s chicken is one of my favorite dishes but I’ve never tried to make it before. Now I will!

Leave a Reply

