Fettuccine Carbonara

I first learned about this recipe in a food lab in college. I was a restaurant management major, so I had to learn about food at some point.

This particular class met once a week for two hours. We were put into groups, and each group would make a different recipe. Every week there would be a different theme. Carbonara fell in the ‘eggs’ week. My group made carbonara, another one made meringue, and another made omelets.

At the end of class, we would all get to try everyone’s recipes. It was a really delicious class.

I loved the carbonara recipe we were given! I don’t know where it originated from, so I am unable to credit it. It was just in a packet put together by our professor.

I did switch out the cream for some milk, just to save a few calories. Plus, I never ever have cream on hand. It doesn’t change things much. I promise.

Photobucket

Fettuccine Carbonara

8oz Fettuccine
2 Eggs
¼ Cup Milk
1/3 Cup Parmesan Cheese
1 Tbsp Dried Parsley
¼ tsp Salt
10 Slices Bacon
2 Cups Frozen Peas

Bring a large pot of water to boil, and cook pasta according to packing directions.

Photobucket

While waiting for pasta to finish, cook the bacon. I just put it on a baking sheet, and put it in the oven at 350F for about 15 minutes. You can cook it however you want. Crumble or slice and set aside.

Photobucket

Cook the peas as well. Again, you can do this however you prefer. I just put them in a small pan with a bit of water and boiled them.

Whisk together the eggs, milk, parmesan, parsley, and salt in a small bowl.

Photobucket

Once everything is done, drain the pasta and return it to the pan. Stir in the peas and bacon. While everything is still hot, pour the egg mixture into pan. Stir constantly for about two minutes, or until the sauce thickens.

Photobucket

Make sure that this last step is done off heat or you could end up with scrambled eggs instead of a creamy sauce.

Photobucket

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, pork, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Fettuccine Carbonara

  1. I’ve made Fettucini before but I’ve never put bacon in it. It looks good. I’ll have to try that next time!

  2. Oh yum! This looks sooooo good! No one but me like green peas so I never think to make this – but I will because I think this will be great for lunch and work and I bet it freezes just fine! Thanks!

    • pamasaurus says:

      You could also easily take the peas out and add spinach or some green peppers. Whatever you like! It’s a very versatile recipe 😀

  3. Jecca says:

    How funny, I make something similar to this, only I only use egg yolks and I add spinach instead of peas. LOL.

  4. rogueretlaw says:

    This looks so easy and delicious! I can’t wait to give it a go!

  5. I have our new family carbonara recipe posted too…I love trying all the different variations! I’m not a fan of peas though, so we usually use mushrooms 🙂 http://theoptimisticbaker.com/2011/10/

    • pamasaurus says:

      Yours definitely looks delicious, too! I’ll have to try it with different cheeses next time! I have a mental block about mushrooms, so I’ve actually never ate one. I’ll stick to the peas while you stick to the mushrooms! It all works out!!

      Side note. My last name is Smith, too.

      • That deal sounds good to me, and now I have even more of a reason to like your blog! I had a hard time changing my name after I got married because so many people are a “Smith”…but I love it now 🙂 And in regards to the nomination, AWESOME thanks tons! Do you know if the blogs have to be wordpress blogs or if they can be hosted elsewhere as well?

      • pamasaurus says:

        You’re welcome 😀

        I’m not sure. I’m going to say that you can nominate anyone you want, haha. I don’t see why it would be an issue, other than people not being able to ‘follow’ them on here. There’s ways around that, though!

  6. Mary says:

    Delicious! I actually learned this recipe from an Italian guy in Spain (one of those weird things in life) and he didn’t use cream. I always just crack the eggs directly over the pasta, throw in a bunch of cheese and toss with forks or a tong. Though I might have to try it with milk or cream and see if it’s creamier.

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’ve had it both ways, and I prefer the creaminess of adding the milk. Both ways are delicious, though! You can also make it less dry by adding a bit of pasta water, just an idea 😀

      Thanks for stopping by!!

  7. Sara says:

    I really like your recipe 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing.
    You might also like to try the below version.
    http://www.wascene.com/food-drink/fettuccine-carbonara-recipe/
    Sara

  8. melodyhearts says:

    Yummm!! This looks delicious 🙂 Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

