Brownie Roll Out Cookies

I love dinosaurs, almost to the point of obsession.  I enjoy all things dinosaur.  I frequent natural history museums.  I made a trip to NYC just to go to Build-a-Dino.  My friends know that any dinosaur-themed gift will be a hit with me.

I love dinosaurs.

This makes me wonder how I’ve gone 29 years without owning dinosaur cookie cutters.  I have a dinosaur muffin pan and a dinosaur pancake mold but no cookie cutters.

That was until the hubster randomly picked some up for me!

I was so excited!  I couldn’t wait to use them!  I was planning on making my Grandmother’s roll out recipe, but I couldn’t find it.  Instead of calling someone who would know it, I went to Google.  I knew the idea of a plain sugar cookie was out the window when I saw Smitten Kitchen’s Brown Roll-Out Cookies.

How have I lived 29 years without eating these?!?!  They were NOMalicious and super cute, thanks to the new cookie cutters.

Photobucket

Brownie Roll-Out Cookies

3 Cups Flour
½ tsp Salt
½ tsp Baking Powder
1 Cup Butter, Softened
1 ½ Cups Sugar
2 Large Eggs
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
2/3 Cup Unsweeted Cocoa Powder

Stir together flour, salt, and baking powder.

Mix butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla, and cocoa powder with electric mixer.

Slowly add flour mixture.  Stir until well combined.

Photobucket

Wrap dough in plastic wrap and chill in refrigerator for at least 1 hour.

Roll dough out to ¼ inch on a floured surface.  Cut out and place on parchment paper lined baking sheets.

Photobucket

Bake at 350F for 8-11 minutes, or until edges are firm and centers are soft and puffed.

Photobucket

Cool on a wire wrack.  Enjoy.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

RAWWWRRR!!  We all played with these.  Yes, we’re dorks.  I wouldn’t want us any other way.

Photobucket

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Brownie Roll Out Cookies

  1. iamahamster says:

    these are so cute! dinos are the best!

  2. deairby says:

    how smart are you to have a way to offer a printable version of the recipe!!! good goin’, girl! And, I want to try this recipe.

  3. omg! where did you find the cookie cutter?! Must have!! My 5 year old can list the dino-names in alphabetical order… and he usually remembers *almost* all of them! He has the attention span of a….well, 5 year old boy, unless it’s dinosaurs. He’ll let you read “chapter books” with no photos if they’re about dinosaurs!

    • pamasaurus says:

      That’s how I was when I was a kid, haha. My mom is full of hilarious stories about my dinosaur obsession.

      My husband got the cookie cutters at a kitchen store in our mall. I linked to the exact ones I have on amazon, though, towards the beginning of the post 😀

  4. Sandra says:

    I love these! They’re like animal crackers for grown ups!

  5. Awesome! 🙂 I’ve been looking for something like this to make. Love the dinosaurs!

  6. Liv says:

    As a primary school teacher/food blogger, I love cooking with my kids – they’re going to LOVE these! I wonder if they could they be decorated too…?

    • pamasaurus says:

      Oh yeah, the definitely would taste amazing with icing and such on them! The dough is really hard, so you might not be able to push sprinkles and such in it before it’s baked… but slathering with icing and sprinkle away!

  7. Thank you for visiting my blog and liking the post Pooh Bear Mirror, Lemon Curd and 100!
    We love Dinosaurs at our house too and have a fabulous mould. Now I need to get some cookie cutters like yours and try out your recipe! 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      You’re welcome! I enjoy your blog 😀

      Dinosaurs are awesome! I linked the cookie cutters on amazon in my post, if you want to check them out! We found them in a kitchen store in our mall.

  8. Cara Olsen says:

    These are just too cute! And you displayed this post so beautifully. I don’t have children of my own yet, but I don’t see why we adults can’t partake in a little nostalgia with some dino cookies. 🙂

    Thanks for the recipe!

    Blessings,
    Cara

  9. Juliet says:

    Oh, these are adorable! My little guy loves dinosaurs and would love these. Thanks for sharing! :0)

  10. thehungrymum says:

    How cute are the cutters? And how AMAZING do these cookies look?! Yummmmm.

Leave a Reply

