Spinach Lasagna Rolls

I lived in the dorm for most of my college career. I had no kitchen. I was not allowed to have hot plates or any electric appliance except a microwave and mini fridge.

My friend and I used to beg people to let us use their kitchens, bribing them with promises of a delicious dinner. Everyone usually agreed to this. Who could turn that down??

One time, my friend made lasagna rolls. I had never heard of this, but it sounded like an amazing idea! Hers were just plain cheese, and they were delicious.

Fast forward a few years. Ok, maybe 8 years. I feel old. I have been making these at least once a month for a while. I’ve made a few small changes, mainly adding spinach, but they are still so, so good!

Photobucket

Spinach Lasagna Rolls

9 Lasagna Noodles
15 oz Ricotta Cheese
1 Egg
½ Cup Parmesan Cheese
½ Cup Mozzarella Cheese
10 oz Package Frozen Chopped Spinach
24 oz Can or Jar of Spaghetti Sauce
1 Tbsp Italian Seasoning
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Preheat oven to 350F.

Boil water and cook noodles according to al dente package directions. Drain well.

Meanwhile, thaw and drain spinach.

Mix the ricotta, egg, parmesan, mozzarella, spinach, Italian seasoning, salt, and pepper together.

Photobucket

Pour about ¼ of the sauce in the bottom of a pan.

Spread the cheese mixture on the noodles, using between ¼ and 1/3 cup per noodle (a heaping ¼ cup or a barely full 1/3 cup). Roll them up and place in pan, seam side down.

Photobucket

Pour remaining sauce over rollups, and bake for 30-35 minutes. Enjoy.

Photobucket

I used fat free ricotta, reduced fat parmesan, and part skim mozzarella. They still tasted amazing, but they only had 217 calories each!

Photobucket

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, meatless, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Spinach Lasagna Rolls

  1. pclovinu says:

    My kind of food–easy, low-cal, and delicious. Will probably try this recipe for my vegetarian daughter. Thanks!

  2. denlyn3 says:

    What a fantastic idea. You made lasagna simple and delicious.

  3. ms.caryl says:

    Very yummy and creative! I might have to try this for my husband one day 🙂 Thank you for sharing.

  4. TheLittleGSP says:

    These look great! Such a simply way to make lasagna. 🙂

  5. Sherri says:

    I’ll make you my southwest lasagna rolls if you make me your spinach ones!

  6. moneysava says:

    Great idea, although I have to confess I’ve never seen lasagne sheets like that before…

    • pamasaurus says:

      I got them in the pasta isle of my grocery store, Barilla brand.

      • moneysava says:

        I will have to search high and low, but you’re state side aren’t you? So perhaps Amazon UK might do them: I know they do some gorgeous peanut butter American sweets which we don’t have the version of here. We’ve just tried Peanut butter M&M’s, Peanut butter butter chocolate cups (Reese I think), and peanut butter twix (you might think we have a thing about peanut butter lol)

      • pamasaurus says:

        Yes, I’m in the states. Hopefully you can find them! I may have to look up what UK lasagna noodles are like.

        Reese’s cups are my favorite. Well, second favorite. First is Reese’s Pieces, which are a lot like peanut butter m&ms. Everything is better with peanut butter!

      • moneysava says:

        Our lasagne sheets are short and wide, and about a portion size each sheet. (http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a62/dabbit1/lasange.jpg). If I was a woman I would think I was pregnant with this craving for peanut buttery things…lol

      • pamasaurus says:

        I saw ones like that at the store last time I looked. They’re definitely new here. You could probably make roll ups out of them… they’ll just be a different shape/size. It’s worth a try!

  7. Bonnie Bower-Corey says:

    I might try these but only with fresh spinach, or any fresh greens saute with the season, than the cheese.

    • pamasaurus says:

      If you saute the greens, it’ll add more calories from the oil/whatever used, just keep that in mind 😀

  8. Dr Dan says:

    Good idea, I will make this tonight!

  9. Love the lasagna, and… You have just been awarded the “One Lovely Blog” Award! Congratulations and have fun.

  10. that is fantastic!! I make lasagna “cupcakes” where I put them in a muffin tin, cross the noodles across the bottom, put the filling in -both the cheese and the sauce-, then wrap it…. voila! Lasagna Rolls will be next on my list!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’ll have to try the cupcakes sometime! That’s a wonderful idea. I’m always looking for ways to have easy portion control on things like this 😉

  11. tfun2662 says:

    Making this sometime this week. It looks so good!

  12. Dave says:

    What a great idea to make individual servings of lasagna look as good as they taste.
    Nice pics!

  13. This has been bookmarked and is on my to-do list. I love lasagna, but I need time to collect the ingredients. 😀

  14. These sound delicious and look pretty too.I shall have to try them:) Thank you for liking my post, Fountain Pen …. and tonight’s post, River Tamar… 🙂

    ;

  15. It looks amazing! This is something I can eat non-stop 😉

  16. Cant wait to try this!

  17. Reblogged this on The After 5 Lifestyle and commented:
    This looks delish! I figured I share this with you guys. I can’t to try this, I’ve never made lasagna before.

  18. Pingback: Rags to Dishes

  19. Dr Dan says:

    I made these tonight and it was a hit! Thanks again for the idea. I added a bit of nutmeg to the ricotta because I did not have italian seasonings. Delightful!

  20. Pingback: Au Courant Fare « coffeepoweredmom

  21. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #7 | Pa-BLAM!

  22. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #11 | Pa-BLAM!

  23. Pingback: Lasagna | omnomalicious

  24. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #17 | Pa-BLAM!

  25. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #21 | Pa-BLAM!

  26. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #33 | Pa-BLAM!

  27. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #40 | Pa-BLAM!

  28. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #41 | Pa-BLAM!

  29. Pingback: Ranch Enchilasagna Rolls | omnomalicious

  30. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #50 | Pa-BLAM!

  31. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #60 | Pa-BLAM!

  32. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #63 | Pa-BLAM!

  33. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #72 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

