Creamy Chicken Taquitos

Creamy Chicken Taquitos

Yummmmmmmm. I love Mexican food.

I guess I should say that I love Americanized Mexican food.

So, when my friend Tiffany posted this recipe from Our Best Bites on Facebook, I knew I had to try it.

Or, ya know, some version of it.

Now I can’t wait to make them again! DELICIOUS!

Photobucket

Creamy Chicken Taquitos

4 oz Cream Cheese
½ Cup Green Salsa
1 Tbsp Lime Juice
½ tsp Cumin
1 tsp Chili Powder
½ tsp Onion Powder
2 Cloves Garlic, Minced
½ Tbsp Dried Cilantro
1 Cup Shredded Cooked Chicken
1 Cup Shredded Mexican Cheese
1 15.5oz Can Black Beans
4 Slices Bacon, Cooked and Crumbled
8 10-Inch Flour Tortillas
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

I usually keep shredded chicken in my freezer. I’ll cook a whole bunch at once, shred it, lay it flat on a baking sheet, freeze it, and then transfer it to a freezer bag. Most people don’t do this. One small breast should give you enough chicken for this recipe. Just bake it for about an hour at 350F, let it cool, and shred it with two forks.

Photobucket

Preheat the oven to 425F.

Mix the cream cheese, salsa, lime juice, and spices together.

Photobucket

Add the chicken, shredded cheese, beans, and crumbled bacon.

Photobucket

Scoop about 1/3 cup of mixture into each tortilla.

Photobucket

Roll the tortillas and place them, seam side down, on a baking sheet.

Photobucket

Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until crisp.

Photobucket

I served mine with some extra salsa. They’d also be delicious with some sour cream.

Photobucket

I used fat free sour cream, Colby-Jack cheese, and Mission Medium Carb Balance Tortillas. Each taquito had 250 calories.

Photobucket

Also, Tiffany mentioned that she was going to leave the bacon out and add corn. This combination has my full attention, and I’ll probably try it next time.

As you can tell, this is a crazy versatile recipe.  You could use basically any type of meat or bean, add in different vegetables, use different flavors of salsa.  Anything.  The possibilities are endless.

How would you make them???

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Creamy Chicken Taquitos

  1. I have all the ingredients – I’m going to try this tomorrow.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  2. Juliet says:

    The cream cheese mixture looks delish! We’re celebrating my mother-in-law’s birthday this weekend, and this looks like a great recipe to make for that. Thanks for sharing such yummy recipes! :0)

  3. Sherri says:

    I want to eat these now! I’m definitely making these soon.

  4. Jennifer M. says:

    Those look so much better than the ones you get in the freezer section! Great recipe 🙂

  5. I love Mexican food too! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. why, WHY am I reading this before bed? I’ve been craving Mexican food, and haven’t satisfied it yet, and this fantastic recipe isn’t helping. Maybe tomorrow I can indulge in something like this. Le sigh.

  7. Um, yum. These are darling, especially the brown, crispy-looking edges. I’ll take an order to go, please!

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #2 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. I am SO trying this… going for the ingredients next shopping trip.

  10. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #8 | Pa-BLAM!

  11. Pingback: Buffalo Chicken Mac and Cheese | omnomalicious

  12. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #27 | Pa-BLAM!

  13. these look so amazing pam! we’re trying these for sure! xo

Leave a Reply

