Potato Stacks

This is another Pinterest recipe. I’m having a hard time remembering what I fed my family before I discovered that site. I know I cooked, but I can’t think of anything. Well, anything except meatloaf and spaghetti.

Anyway!

When I saw This recipe from Sea Salt With Food, I knew I had to try it. We love potatoes, and I’m always looking for new ways to serve them.

We all enjoyed these. Plus, they’re pretty. I enjoy pretty food!

Photobucket

Potato Stacks

1 lb Russet or Red Potatoes
3 Tbsp Olive Oil
2 Cloves Garlic, Minced
1 tsp Thyme
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Wash the potatoes and slice them thin. Use a mandolin slicer if you have one. If you don’t, cutting them with a knife will work.

Photobucket

Combine the olive oil, garlic, and thyme in a small saucepan. Heat the mixture over low heat until you can smell the garlic. Remove it from the heat before the garlic begins to brown.

Photobucket

Brush the insides of a muffin tin with the olive oil mixture. You can use a paper towel to coat it if you don’t have a brush.

Layer the potatoes inside the muffin tin, brushing with olive oil between each layer. Season with salt and pepper.

Photobucket

Bake at 350F for 35 to 40 minutes, until they’re crispy on the outside and tender on the inside.

Photobucket

Enjoy!!!

I didn’t use all the olive oil on my potatoes. I used the leftover to toss some fresh green beans in before baking them as well. I didn’t want it to go to waste! Plus, YUM. Green beans are my favorite.

Photobucket

I ended up with 12 stacks. I couldn’t figure out how to accurately calculate how much of the olive oil mixture I used, so I just put the whole 3 tablespoons into the recipe analyzer. Each of these stacks has less than 60 calories. Not bad. Not bad at all.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, side dish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Potato Stacks

  1. hautemealz says:

    I’ve done a similar dish for years, but using the muffin pan is BRILLIANT! I’ll be trying that asap. I always sprinkle a little cheese between the potato layers, and some on top to crisp. Usually parm/reg, or asiago. I want to try slippin’ some thin mushroom slices (2-3) between the potatoes, as well.

    Dang, now I’m jonesing…

    Thanks for the great idea!

    -Perry
    hautemealz.com

    • pamasaurus says:

      Cheese!! I love that idea! You could probably even alternate sweet potatoes with regular potatoes! I love versatile recipes 😉

      I’m definitely making it with some cheese, though! Thanks for the idea!

  2. The word “brilliant” came to mind for me too when I saw the muffin tins. I usually spread sliced potatoes out in one layer on a cookie sheet, but this sounds even easier. I will be trying this!

  3. Super tasty, super simple, and you can totally scale it down for one person! Love it (and Pinterest… and you guys)

  4. Jennifer M. says:

    Clever idea! I’ve got to get back on Pinterest. It’s just that it can be overwhelming sometimes 😉

    • pamasaurus says:

      I have found so many amazing recipes on there. I’m not as addicted as I used to be, though. I get on once a day as opposed to every chance I got 😉

  5. Fabulous idea – I’ll be trying these! I like the cheese idea too. 🙂

  6. Andrea says:

    These are a must try!

Leave a Reply

