Chicken Taco Chili

What’s better on cold days than a nice, warm bowl of chili? Exactly.

That’s why, when I saw the rainy forecast for this week, I pulled this recipe out.

Not only that, but it’s easy. At least my favorite recipe is. Just throw everything in the crock pot in the morning, and it’s ready to go at dinner time.

I found this recipe on Skinny Taste, and I’ve made it a ton of times. Everyone always enjoys it. It makes a HUGE crock pot full, so my family of three can usually get two meals out of it. Leftovers are always awesome!

Photobucket

Chicken Taco Chili

1 Onion, Chopped
1 16-oz Can Black Beans
1 16-oz Can Kidney Beans
1 8-oz Can No Salt Added Tomato Sauce
10 oz Frozen Corn Kernels
2 14.5-oz Cans Diced Tomatos
1 7-oz Can Chopped Chilies
1 Packet Reduced Sodium Taco Seasoning
1 Tbsp Cumin
1 Tbsp Chili Powder
.5 Tbsp Chipotle Powder
1 lb Boneless Chicken Breast

In crock pot, combine onion, beans, tomato sauce, corn, diced tomatoes, chilies, and seasonings.

Photobucket

Place chicken breasts on top.

Photobucket

Cook on high for 6 hours or low for 10.

About an hour before serving, pull out chicken and shred. You can use two forks. I usually put the chicken in the fridge for a few minutes, and just use shred by hand.

Photobucket

Stir chicken back into chili.

Photobucket

Serve and enjoy!

I topped mine with reduced fat cheddar and fat free sour cream. You can top it however you like.

Photobucket

Sometimes I make rice to serve this over. It just depends how I’m feeling that day.

What’s the best part of this recipe? Well, it’s delicious and low calorie, best of both worlds! It has around 200 calories per bowl full. Well, my normal sized bowls that hold about 1 ¼ cup.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Chicken Taco Chili

  1. Is this spicy? Like, on a scale of 1-10, 1 being bread and 10 being OMGkillme. I have never used chopped chilies before, so I’m nosey. 😀

  2. Mumma Bee says:

    YUM – THESE LOOK FANTAstic

  3. I’ve never tried making chicken chili, but this seems super simple. The rest of the recipe is similar to one that I’ve made, so I’m excited to try it with shredded chicken!

  4. moneysava says:

    Looks lovely especially as it’s not spicy hot, I like the flavours chili (got a nice recipe from BBC) great thanks

  5. Pingback: Cornbread Muffins | omnomalicious

  6. Pingback: Crock Pot White Chicken Chili | omnomalicious

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #29 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #47 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. mhdriver says:

    I’m a big chilli fan and I belive I can sink my teeth in a big bowl of this. Sounds good I’m not afraid of a little heat. Hi Pam, Thanks for all the likes on my blog.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!! I love how easy it is to control the heat level in things like chilli. Add some more spice if you like 😉

      You’re welcome!

  10. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #67 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a comment