Strawberry Shortcake Muffins

It’s strawberry season here in South Jersey! I couldn’t be more excited! I love strawberries!

What’s even better than just buying strawberries is picking your own. Maybe I’m a little too easily amused, but spending an hour in the field picking strawberries is my idea of a good time.

Ok, maybe I’m easily amused and a little boring. You should just admit that it sounds like fun, though.

As soon as I knew the fields were open, I texted my friend Megan. We made plans to meet up, and off we went. Her daughter had a blast smooshing the berries while we picked them. Thankfully, we picked a little faster.

Photobucket

We both left we a decent amount. I ate most of them plain, made some waffles with berries, a whole wheat version of Jecca’s strawberry shortcakes, and these muffins from Dashing Dish.

These amazing muffins.

These easy, amazing, delicious, low-calorie muffins!

Seriously, though, my husband ate these in a day. Then bought me a larger food processor and took me strawberry picking again so I could make more.

He must have really liked them!

Photobucket

Strawberry Shortcake Muffins

2 1/2 Cups Old Fashioned Oatmeal
1 Cup Plain Greek Yogurt
2 Eggs
3/4 Cup Sugar
1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
2 Cups Diced Strawberries
Juice of 1 Lemon

Before I get into the recipe, I’m going to reiterate the tip from the source recipe. Do not make these in paper muffin liners; they will stick like crazy. Instead, use either foil or silicone!

(Thanks Megan for the silicone liners!! They really came in handy here!)

Preheat oven to 400F

Place the oatmeal, yogurt, eggs, sugar, lemon juice, baking powder, and baking soda in a food processor or blender and blend until smooth.

Photobucket

I only had a small, 1 cup food processor. I mixed the ingredients together, and blended them a little at a time. It was annoying, but so worth it. At least I have a full-sized processor now, thanks to this recipe and a hungry husband.

I actually remembered half way through that I could’ve just used my immersion blender on it. Oh well. It worked out in the end.

Once the oatmeal is smooth, stir 1 1/2 cups of the strawberries into the batter.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Pour into muffin cups. I ended up with 12 regular sized muffins and 2 jumbo muffins. I didn’t have any other foil or silicone liners. I had to improvise. The jumbo ones are equivalent to 2 regular muffins, calorie wise.

Spread the remaining 1/2 cup of strawberries over the top of muffins.

Photobucket

Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Mine took exactly 22 minutes. The jumbo muffins took 25.

Photobucket

These are seriously delicious warm or cooled. Their texture is different than regular muffins; they’re more chewy, but not in a bad way. I came out with about 110 calories per muffin (220 for a jumbo muffin). Her count is different since she made less muffins and used artificial sweetener.

Photobucket

I’m going to whip up another batch of these today since I have about 10 cups of sliced strawberries that need to be used!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in bread and breakfast, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Strawberry Shortcake Muffins

  1. TheLittleGSP says:

    These look amazing!!! The strawberries are so fresh and red and I love those colorful silicone liners. I need to get some of those and then I’ll try this recipe! 🙂

  2. Jecca says:

    Yum! And they are so pretty!!!

  3. Vicky Leung says:

    I love strawberry season. These look scrumptious! How awesome is that you got a new food processor out of it as well.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! I love strawberry season, too! The place I like to pick at also has a ‘pick your own sweet cherry’ season, which is opening this weekend 😀

      • Vicky Leung says:

        A lot of the ‘pick your own’ places in my area were taken over by housing developers so there aren’t very many left. That’s great that you still have them close to you 🙂 I can’t wait to see what you make with the cherries!

      • pamasaurus says:

        That’s so sad that they’re taking over the farms! I guess that’s one of the perks of living in the Garden State, right? I have at least 10 farmers markets within at 10 minute drive!

        I usually just eat the cherries, since they’re the sweet cherries… not the sour baking cherries. I’m trying to figure something out, though!

  4. I definitely want to try this recipe! Maybe add some raspberries too 🙂

  5. Juliet says:

    Those look so pretty and delicious! Oh, I might just have to take my little guy out to our favorite strawberry patch to pick some strawberries so we can make these. Thanks for sharing another fabulous recipe!! :0)

  6. These look great! I’ve been thinking of buying some silicone muffin liners. Do you have to grease them at all, or are they perfectly “no-stick” on their own?

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!

      Another commenter said that she lightly floured hers. I don’t do anything, and they’re perfectly non stick so far! This is only the second time I’ve used them, though, but so far so good!

  7. Strawberries already! How wonderful and a lovely sounding recipe, beautiful to look at and, I bet, beautiful to eat!
    I’ve baked Choc Chip Mini Muffins this afternoon and to answer your previous commenter, Real Food, Real Deals who I must go and have a look at, the silicone muffin cases are wonderful, only needing a light dusting of flour and re-usable over and over! I’ll be posting about the muffins tonight 🙂
    Thank you for liking my post Subdued Light, Rabbit and Old Phone Box. 🙂

  8. Cassy says:

    Mmmm… excuse me as I drool a little! I am so excited to pick up some strawberries. Hopefully maybe even this weekend!

  9. shittydad says:

    This looks fantastic. Gotta try it soon!

  10. A Budding Chef says:

    These look amazing and are reminiscent of the muffins a friend of mine brought into work one day. When she said they were strawberry muffins, I was kind of skeptical because I didn’t believe one could make muffins with strawberries, but the first bite (and the one after that… and the one after that) were simply delicious. I’ll definitely have to give these a go!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! This was my first experience with strawberry muffins, too! I have another recipe somewhere that is ‘strawberry and cream’ muffins. I might have to dig that one out at some point!

      Hope you enjoy these 😀

  11. moneysava says:

    Strawberries are my favourite fruit – but only ones grown in the UK. I find they are much sweeter and tastier than those force grown or from abroad. I also grow my own which never stay on the plants long – most of us (including my young grand daughter) all love them. These appeal though big time, so another recipe to hand to my daughter to try!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I’ve never had UK strawberries, as I live in the US. I usually won’t buy them from the grocery store, only farmers markets. I have plenty of them around where I live!

      Strawberries are one of my favorites, too. Hopefully you enjoy these 😀

  12. These muffins sound amazing! I love strawberry season. Never been berry picking myself, but the fam and I went apple picking a lot when I was a kid. I’ll have to check out some strawberry farms here and see what the fuss is about. Glad you had a blast 🙂

  13. Pingback: A day without rain |

  14. These look very delicious! Can’t wait until strawberry season and I will try this out!

  15. Very good posting this may help everyone.

  16. Pingback: Strawberry Shortcake Muffins « Nailed It/Failed It

Leave a Reply

