Garlic Alfredo Sauce

I looooooove Alfredo Sauce. Love it.

I mean, what’s not to love? Cream and cheese and yuuuuuum. It’s all that fat that makes it delicious.

It’s super easy to make, too. If you make it yourself, you can control the fat content. I used fat free half and half (Which confuses me, but whatever) and reduced fat parmesan. It was still delicious, but super low fat/low calorie!

This is one just a variation of a white sauce recipe I’ve known how to make forever. I don’t remember where I learned it; it’s just in my brain. I actually have a bunch of random stuff up there that I don’t remember learning. The weirdest have to be tying a tie and french braiding.

Anyway, on to the recipe!

Photobucket

Garlic Alfredo Sauce

1 Tbsp Butter
2 Cloves Garlic, Minced
1 Tbsp Flour
2 Cups Fat Free Half and Half (or any cream/milk you prefer)
½ Cup Grated Parmesan
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Melt the butter in a saucepan. Add the garlic and allow to cook for a few minutes.

Photobucket

Stir in the flour, and let cook for 2 minutes.

Slowly whisk in half and half, making sure that the flour completely dissolves. Bring mixture to a boil, and allow it to boil for a few minutes until thickened.

Photobucket

Remove from heat and stir in salt, pepper, and parmesan cheese. Stir until smooth.

Photobucket

I mixed mine with some sautéed Italian sausage, mini cheese raviolis, and wilted spinach. It was amazing!!

Photobucket

See? Super easy, just like I said. What are you doing still reading? Go make this, now.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, side dish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Garlic Alfredo Sauce

  1. TheLittleGSP says:

    Looks delicious! I agree with your confusion over the fat free half and half. 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! They apparently add a chemical to it to give it the consistency of half in half without the fat. I know a lot of people don’t like to consume chemicals, but meh. It’s probably not the worst thing I’ve ate 😉

  2. That sounds wonderful-I will have to try it. I think it might go very well with my lemony meatballs !:)

  3. A Budding Chef says:

    Yum! Alfredo is absolutely one of my favourite dishes to make and I love how incredibly simple it can be. Not only that, but the homemade stuff is definitely better than the jar and I’m so incredibly thankful I found this out. Unfortunately, it wasn’t until last Easter when I was cooking dinner for my friends at work (we work on Easter unfortunately), but I went with the homemade stuff and I’m so happy that I did. It’s loads more flavourful. Regardless, I digress. I love your photography and the things you post about, girlie! Keep up the good work 😀

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks!!

      It definitely is better than the jarred stuff… and you can control how much cheese/garlic/spices/whatever goes in. It’s really versatile. Add cheddar instead of parm, and it makes a great sauce for homemade mac and cheese!

  4. Even if you use regular 1/2 and 1/2 it still is going to have less fat than it you used heavy cream. I’ve always made this with a cream reduction and no flour. This version is so much better for my heart and looks great. If I don’t use heavy cream I won’t feel bad about adding the sausage. Yum

    • pamasaurus says:

      Why is everything delicious soooo bad for you? Hopefully now you’re able to enjoy your sausage and sauce together without guilt!

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #2 | Pa-BLAM!

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #15 | Pa-BLAM!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #25 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #26 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #28 | Pa-BLAM!

  10. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #46 | Pa-BLAM!

  11. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #65 | Pa-BLAM!

  12. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #82 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

