Chile Lime Chicken

Happy Memorial Day everyone, and thank you to everyone that is serving or has served in the Military. You guys ROCK!

I have no plans for today. My husband works this weekend, and I absolutely do not feel like dealing with traffic. I live basically right next to the main route to the South Jersey beaches. This weekend marks the start of tourist season… and traffic was already awful yesterday. I just, I don’t know. We’re going to just stay in and grill. Nothing special.

I have a lot of news today I think. I’m mulling over the idea of starting a personal blog. I’ll definitely still keep on keeping on with the recipes here, but I feel like I need another outlet. I need a place to post menu planning, trashy eats that aren’t ‘blog worthy’, photography, funny family stories, fitness stuffs, and all that jazz. Opinions? I know you guys come for the recipes, but would you be interested in getting to know me better?

If I had a blog, this is what I’d post there today. Instead, I’m posting it here because I’m proud of myself. I’ve been working on the Couch To 5K running program. Two months ago, I probably couldn’t run down to the end of the block. Last night, I ran a whole 5k without stopping or walking. I mean, my time was awful (36 minutes), but I still did it! Now I can work on my time. So, yay me!!

Anyway! I should probably get to the recipe for today….

This recipe started as a post by Gluten Free We Will Be, which was a recipe origionally posted on Eat Better America.

It’s no secret that I’ve been on a southwest kick lately. So, of course I thought this would be amazing, and I knew I had to try it as soon as possible.

I made a few tiny changes. I added honey and switched the jalapeno for chili seasoning. My daughter is *very* spice sensitive. She’s been better lately, but I knew jalapano would be too much.

It was yumtastic, guys: light, fresh, delicious. I’m definitely going to be making it again (and again). So, go fire up the grill! Doooo it!

Photobucket

Chile Lime Chicken

2 Limes, Juiced and Zested
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 Tbsp Dried Cilantro
1 Tbsp Honey
1/2 tsp Sea Salt
1/2 Tbsp Chili Seasoning
1 Clove Garlic, Minced
1 lb Boneless Chicken Breasts

I started by cutting my chicken breast into strips since the pieces were pretty large. They also cook faster when they’re smaller.

Mix all the ingredients, except chicken, together in a Ziploc bag or shallow dish.

Photobucket

Add the chicken and let marinate at least a half hour, but no more than a full day. I let mine soak for about 6 hours, turning a few times thorughout.

Photobucket

Heat your grill. Unfortuantely, since we’re new-ish homeowners, a grill wasn’t on the top of our necessity list. This does make me sad, but at least I have this fancy smancy grill pan. So, I just heated that up instead.

Photobucket

Cook your chicken on medium heat for 4-5 minutes on each side, or until fully cooked.

Photobucket

I served mine with some chili spiced rice pilaf, and it was pretty delicious!

Photobucket

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Chile Lime Chicken

  1. Pami, of course I would be interested in getting to know you better! You and Jecca are great cooks and I pin most of your recipes and I even attempt them ocassionally! 🙂 Each of you girls fulfill a strand in the American fabric of life. When I was young and a new mom, I was stay-at-home as well – then when I was exactly the age of Jecca I moved my daughter and I back home to take care of my dad. During each of those times, if I had a platform like a blog to talk about my experiences and triumphs – maybe I would be more well-adjusted today. 🙂 Hahaha!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thank you so much! We adore reading your blog as well! I’m going to go ahead with the new blog project, but it might be awhile before I get it all situation and pretty (meaning: decide on color scheme/make graphics/etc). I’ll let everyone know when it’s up and running!!

  2. Jittery Cook says:

    5 k in 36 minutes sounds fantastic to me!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Its about 12 minutes/mile, which isn’t bad, but it isn’t amazing either. Eventually I’ll be able to go faster. I’m just happy that I can do it at all right now 😀

  3. quilt32 says:

    I’d be very interested in reading about other facets of your life.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks 😀 I’m working on things for the new blog. I’ll definitely post a link once I have it all settled!

  4. TheLittleGSP says:

    I too would be interested in reading your new blog… I’ll watch for the link when you’re ready! 🙂

  5. I’ll be honest. I skipped your recipe. I am so excited about the possibility of you having a personal blog! Maybe I’m just nosey like that, but I’m in.
    Also, congrats on running a full 5K, omg. That’s right. I said omg. I’m embarassed for me too. I can’t run that far, and I am envious of your dedication. 😀

    • pamasaurus says:

      Haha, you missed an awesome recipe, but thanks! I’m working on getting it all setup. So, it should be up and running sometime at the end of the week/beginning of next maybe?

      I totally understand, though. I’ve been on livejournal and deadjournal for around 10 years. I enjoy reading about others’ lives. I’m pretty excited to start on a new platform! A public platform!

      Thanks! I think I said omg when I sent out my ‘omg I did it guys!’ texts, so don’t be too embarrassed 😉 I’m pretty proud of myself! Thanks again 😀

Leave a Reply

