Cornbread Muffins

Hey guys!  This is my 50th recipe!  So, yay for that!

What goes better with chili than cornbread?

Nothing.

Well, I happen to think cornbread goes with anything, but I never claimed to be normal.

This recipe comes from a recipe card in my recipe box. I don’t know where it originated, but it’s pretty straight forward.

And delicious. Can’t forget delicious.

It was also an amazing excuse to use my amazingly awesome dinosaur muffin pan!

Photobucket

Cornbread Muffins

1 ½ Cups Cornmeal
2 ½ Cups Milk
2 Cups Flour
1 Tbsp Baking Powder
1 tsp Salt
2/3 Cup Sugar
2 Eggs
½ Cup Vegetable Oil

Preheat oven to 400F.

Combine the cornmeal with milk and let it stand for five minutes.

Photobucket

Whisk flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar together.

Mix in the cornmeal mixture, eggs, and oil; stir until smooth.

Photobucket

Fill sprayed muffin pans ¾ full.

Photobucket

Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.

Photobucket

If you’re making regular cornbread instead of muffins, just up the baking time to 30-35 minutes.

Photobucket

I also made some regular muffins, since I didn’t feel like waiting for the first batch of dinosaurs to be done. My daughter said they were for the vegetarians. Since, ya know, vegetarians wouldn’t want to eat dinosaurs.

Photobucket

I used skim milk and whole wheat white flour for these. They turned out amazing. I ended up with 20 150 calorie muffins.

Photobucket

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in bread and breakfast, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Cornbread Muffins

  1. quilt32 says:

    I love corn muffins you’re right, they’re good with anything.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  2. Juliet says:

    Oh, I love the dinosaur pan!! My little guy would love that! And this looks like a great recipe. Congrats on your 50th recipe!! :0)

  3. I have that dinosaur pan! I bought it for my grandson and we plan to cook in it while they are on holiday with us. We might just try this delicious sounding cornbread. 🙂

    • pamasaurus says:

      Really? That’s awesome! I got mine at Target a few years ago, and I loooove it!

      Thanks! Hope you enjoy it!

  4. That is a wonderful pan. Wish I’d had one years ago. Yes, cornmeal muffins go well with anything or by themselves. Love them for breakfast.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! I got it a Target a few years ago. Dinosaurs are my favorite 😉

      And, yes, corn muffins are awesome for breakfast!

  5. Where in the world did you get that dinosaur pan?!?! I MUST get one like it for when my grandson gets a little older! Love cornbread myself!

    • pamasaurus says:

      I got it at Target years ago, but I haven’t seen it in a while. They do have it on Amazon, although it’s a bit more expensive.

  6. bigsmileu1 says:

    I love corn muffins! They look so yummy. 😉

  7. Jecca says:

    I love how the contours of the dinosaurs show threw!

  8. Awesome! My three year old will flip for those! Thanks for the great idea!

  9. I definitely want to try these with skim and whole wheat flour- yum! Love that pan too 🙂

  10. Carine says:

    Just tried them! They’re delicious 🙂
    Thanks!

  11. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #57 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

