Chicken and Rice

This recipe is based loosely on this one for Arroz Con Pollo from Skinny Taste.

Very loosly.

I believe I’ve mentioned that I’m a picky eater.  I have texture issues with both peppers and tomatoes.  I like the flavors, but I can’t handle them whole.  I’m weird.  I realize this. I’m slowly getting better about a lot of my food issues.

I have a lot of them, though, so this could take some time.

So, I switched some stuff up, added some different vegetables, and ended up with this dish that my family asks for all the time.  It’s definitely one of our favorites.

One Pan Chicken and Rice from Om Nomalicious

This recipe does use two Hispanic seasonings.  I found them in all my local grocery stores. Just look in the Hispanic aisle.  I have faith that you can find them.

One Pan Chicken and Rice from Om Nomalicious

Chicken and Rice

4 Boneless Skinless Chicken Thighs
¼ Cup White Vinegar
2 Packets Sazon Seasoning
½ tsp Adobo Powder
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
½ tsp Onion Powder
½ tsp Garlic Powder
¼ tsp Cayenne Pepper
1 Cup Long Grain Enriched Rice
16 oz Frozen Peas and Carrots
2 Cups Chicken Broth

Mix vinegar, one packet of Sazon, and the Adobo Powder together.  Add chicken and allow to marinate at least 10 minutes, but longer is better.

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet, and brown the chicken for about 5 minutes on each side.  Remove and set aside.

Add any remaining marinade to the skillet, along with all other seasonings, rice, and vegetables.  Allow to cook for five minutes.

Slowly stir in chicken broth and add chicken back into pan.

Bring to a boil, cover, and reduce heat to low.  Allow to cook for 20 minutes without removing the lid.

Shut off heat, and let sit for an additional 10 minutes without removing the lid.

Fluff, serve, and enjoy.

One Pan Chicken and Rice from Om Nomalicious

This makes 4 servings, one thigh and about 1.5cups of rice/vegetables each.  Depending on the size of the thighs used, each serving has around 400 calories.  Not too shabby!

One Pan Chicken and Rice from Om Nomalicious

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

 

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Chicken and Rice

  1. Hi!
    It looks really nice 🙂 I love arroz con pollo, is like one of Panama most popular dishes. I have a post with our version of this dish, in case you want to try it 😉
    Here is: http://bluejellybeans.wordpress.com/2011/06/17/rice-with-chicken/
    Enjoy!

  2. I love arroz con pollo because my mom made it, but never really know hot to make it. Thanks for sharing!!

  3. Micha says:

    Sounds yummy! Can you describe what the Sazon flavor tastes like? I’ve never used that…

  4. I always forget about marinades. That would be such an easy way to bump up flavors. This sounds like it would be great on shrimp too.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Oh yes! I think it would be amazing with shrimp, too! Thanks for putting that in my brain; I’m definitely going to give it a go!

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #10 | Pa-BLAM!

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #11 | Pa-BLAM!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #23 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #28 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #70 | Pa-BLAM!

  10. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #82 | Pa-BLAM!

  11. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #89 | Pa-BLAM!

  12. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #95 | Pa-BLAM!

  13. Stacy says:

    Love a one-pot meal, Pam! Especially one as tasty and as colorful as this one!

Leave a Reply

