Sweet and Sour Chicken

You may have noticed by now that I make a lot of Chinese dishes. We adore Chinese food in this house. Love it. The town next to us has a pretty amazing buffet, and we go there every now and then. It’s just bad news for my diet. So, we’ve been trying to cut down.

I have, however, been attempting to make more and more Chinese at home to balance it out.

So, when I saw this recipe for baked sweet and sour chicken from Life as a Loft House, I knew I had to try it.

I was not disappointed. Yuuuuuuuum!

Photobucket

Sweet and Sour Chicken

Chicken:

1 lb Chicken Breast
1 Cup Cornstarch
2 Eggs, Beaten
¼ Cup Canola Oil
3 Cups Frozen Broccoli
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Sauce:

¾ Cup Sugar
4 Tbsp Ketchup
½ Cup Vinegar
1 Tbsp Soy Sauce
1 tsp Garlic Powder
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Preheat oven to 325F and heat oil in large skillet.

Cut the chicken into bite sized pieces and season with salt and pepper.

Dip the chicken in cornstarch and then in the eggs.

Brown the chicken in the oil. It doesn’t have to be cooked all the way through, just enough for the coating to be crispy and golden brown.

Photobucket

Place the chicken and broccoli in a baking dish.

Mix all the ingredients for the sauce together and pour over chicken and broccoli.

Bake for 1 hour, turning the chicken halfway through.

Photobucket

This dish isn’t exactly low calorie, but it’s a lot better than anything you could order from a Chinese take out place. I calculated the calories, subtracting out the left over cornstarch and oil, and came out with 430 calories for 1/4th of the recipe.

Photobucket

I served this rice pilaf, and it came to a total of 630 calories for dinner. That’s not great, but it’s not too horrible, either. It was a lot of food.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sweet and Sour Chicken

  1. TheLittleGSP says:

    Cool, I like the idea of coating the chicken with the cornstarch and eggs. Love the “crust” in the photo of the chicken browning in the oil.

    • pamasaurus says:

      Thanks! It was a technique I hadn’t previously used. I’ve used flour as a coating, but never cornstarch. It turned out really nice and is definitely something I’ll do again 😀

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #3 | Pa-BLAM!

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #5 | Pa-BLAM!

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #6 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

