Clam Chowder

I have a huge collection of cookbooks. I rarely use them anymore since it’s so much easier to use the internet for recipes. I’ve been attempting to go through them and pick out at least once cook book recipe a week. It hasn’t been going well, though. I keep forgetting when it comes time to menu plan and end up just opening things I have pinned.

That doesn’t mean I have never used them, though. When I still lived with my mom, we didn’t have internet. That’s when I accumulated most of these cookbooks. That’s also when I used a lot of them. One of my favorites was Cooking Rocks! Rachael Ray’s 30 Minute Meals For Kids. My daughter and I would have fun cooking out of ths all the time! Sadly, I lost this cookbook at a grocery store. I took it to buy ingredients, and left it in the cart. I kick myself for this all the time.

Oh well. Nothing I can do about it now. I did manage to practically memorize one recipe: the Clam Chowder. I made ths one a lot. My whole family enjoyed it and always requested it. It’s easy. It’s fast. It’s yummo.

Photobucket

Clam Chowder

2 Tbsp Butter
2 Slices Bacon, Chopped
1 tsp Thyme
Salt and Pepper, To Taste
Hot Sauce, To Taste
2 Tbsp Flour
2 Cups (1 Pint) Half and Half
2 Cups Chicken Stock
2 Cup Hash Brown Potatoes
2 Cans Baby Clams

Melt the butter in a medium saucepan. Add bacon, thyme, salt, pepper, and hot sauce. I ommitted the hot sauce. It’s all up to your spice preference, or, in my case, my daughter’s spice preference. Allow the bacon to cook for 5 minutes.

Whisk in the flour and cook for 1 more minute.

Photobucket

Slowly add the stock and half and half. Whisk well to make sure flour is completely dissolved. Bring to a boil.

Photobucket

Add drained clams and potatoes.

Bring to a boil again, and allow to simmer for 15 minutes.

Photobucket

I mean, really, could a chowder be any easier than that? It tastes like it took so much more work!

Photobucket

The most recent time I’ve made this, I used fat free half and half and turkey bacon. It made 4 large bowlfulls, about 1.5 cups, each with around 330 calories.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in recipe, soup and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Clam Chowder

  1. Pam says:

    Help, print recipelink isn’t working.

  2. Aaron says:

    YAY! Thanks. You just made her day!!! (Hugs)

  3. I totally figured this would take much more time. Also, it made me think of The Simpsons and, “It’s Chowdah!” I have to stop reading these recipes. Why do you torture me so?

    • pamasaurus says:

      Torture is my favorite pastime 😉

      I know, right? I always thought chowder had to simmer forrrever!

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #10 | Pa-BLAM!

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #15 | Pa-BLAM!

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #25 | Pa-BLAM!

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #32 | Pa-BLAM!

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #42 | Pa-BLAM!

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #45 | Pa-BLAM!

  10. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #51 | Pa-BLAM!

  11. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #53 | Pa-BLAM!

  12. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #58 | Pa-BLAM!

  13. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #64 | Pa-BLAM!

  14. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #75 | Pa-BLAM!

Leave a Reply

