Saffron Spaghetti with Chicken and Broccoli

I’ve always wanted to try saffron, but I couldn’t justify the cost for a spice, especially since I didn’t know if I even liked it!

My amazingly awesome hubster bought me some, though. It was a nice surprise.

I immediately started trying to finding recipes that I needed to try! One of my friends pointed me towards this one for Zucchini with Saffron Sauce from Rachael Ray.

Perfect. Except I don’t like zucchini. Yeah, I’m secretly a picky eater. Don’t tell anyone, please.

The recipe was a great starting point, though! I subbed some broccoli for the zucchini and added chicken to make it a one dish meal. What I ended up with was a low calorie, super delicious recipe that my family gobbles up!

Seriously. This makes about 6 servings, about 1 cup and 300 calories each.

Photobucket

Saffron Spaghetti with Chicken and Broccoli

6 oz Spaghetti (1/2 box)
2 Cups Chicken Broth
2 Pinches Saffron
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 lb Chicken Breast
1 lb Frozen Broccoli (16 oz Bag)
6 Tbsp Butter (I Used Country Crock)
1 Cup Parmesan Cheese (I Used the Reduced Fat Variety)
Salt and Pepper, To Taste

Bring a large pot of water to a boil and cook spaghetti according to package directions.

Meanwhile, pour chicken broth into a pan and add saffron. Bring to a boil and allow to simmer until it reduces a bit.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Heat oil in large skillet. Cut the chicken into bite sized pieces and add to skillet. Season with salt and pepper and brown a few minutes.

I like my broccoli to be a bit overcooked, so I added it to the pan before the chicken was done. If you like your broccoli to still be crisp, cook the chicken first. Then add the broccoli and cook until it’s heated through. It’s up to you.

Photobucket

Once everything is cooked, add spaghetti, butter, parmesan cheese, and broth to the chicken and broccoli. If you have ground saffron, you can just add the broth as is. However, I had full strand saffron, which I had to strain. I didn’t want those things in there.

Photobucket

If it’s too dry for you, add a few tablespoons of pasta water. Stir until well mixed and enjoy.

Photobucket

If you don’t want to buy saffron, I think this recipe would be perfectly delicious without it. You could also use Turmeric, which has a similar flavor.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Saffron Spaghetti with Chicken and Broccoli

  1. Looks fab. I’ve had a hard time justifying buying saffron myself for the same reason, even though I see tons of yummy recipes that use it. This is definitely one of those recipes, I might just have to get on it!

  2. hello, Ilove saffron and was lucky enough to be given some too. herre in Cornwall e have Saffron Buns which are just beautiful. I think turmeric would give the yellow colour but not really the same delicate flavour.
    I shall definitely be trying this recipe. Thank you 🙂

  3. Jecca says:

    I am basically making this for dinner tonight.. Minus the saffron, since ya know.. It’s expensive as hell! But I can’t wait to eat dinner tonight.. I’ve been crazing pasta. ❤

    • Jecca says:

      and yes.. crazing shall be the new word for craving. Hah!

      • pamasaurus says:

        Woot! Hopefully you enjoy it 😀 I could eat like a whole bunch of this… but I’m making spaghetti and meatballs tonight. And, I just had noodles for lunch. Pasta FTW!

        I’m still crazing a cheeseburger… but it’s changed to be more specific. I’m crazing an quesadilla burger from Applebee’s 😉

      • Jecca says:

        I’ve never had that at applebees, but it sounds delish!

      • pamasaurus says:

        It is! It’s so greasy and cheesy and spicy ranchy. Yuuuuuum.

      • Jecca says:

        LOL!!! You better go get your burger.

  4. Jourdie Ross says:

    Hey cutie! Thanks for being such a friendly presence on my blog. To know that some one is reading and cares makes the uncertainty of throwing ideas out into the world a labor of love. Likewise, thanks for what you do here. This recipe looks killer…I love adding something a little unexpected to a dish that’s otherwise comfort food. You get to feel adventurous while also eating something you know you love! 🙂

Leave a Reply

