Toasted Angel Hair with Sausage and Peppers

I don’t find all my recipes on Pinterest. I use cookbooks, too. This recipe comes from one of my favorite cookbooks, 29 Minutes To Dinner from Pampered Chef.

My mom was once a Pampered Chef consultant. So, I have basically their whole library and catalogue. I’m spoiled with kitchen gadgets. I don’t mind.

Back on track, though.

I have texture issues with peppers. I don’t know how to explain it, but I’ve just never been able to eat them. I like the flavor, but the texture just grosses me out. I was talking about this issue with my friend Tiffany (You’re famous, AGAIN!), and she mentioned her husband had the same texture issue. However, he could eat red and yellow peppers if they were cooked right.

Hm. Interesting. I decided to give it a go, and YUM! I actually enjoyed them! This just opened up so many possibilities for me.

I should note that, when reheated, the leftovers had the weird green pepper texture I can’t handle. At least I know I can eat them fresh, though!

Photobucket

Toasted Angel Hair with Sausage and Peppers

1 Pound Italian Sausage
2 Medium Bell Peppers
12 Ounces Uncooked Angel Hair Pasta
3 Cloves Garlic, Minced or Pressed
5 Cups Chicken Broth
1/2 Parmesan Cheese
1 Tbsp Dried Basil

Place sausage into large skillet and cook until no longer pink. Make sure to break it into small pieces. Remove from skillet when finished.

Photobucket

While sausage is cooking, dice the bell peppers after removing the seeds.

Photobucket

Add the angel hair to the skillet and toast for 8 to 10 minutes, or until it’s a golden brown color. Turn it every 2 minutes to prevent burning.

Photobucket

Once the pasta is toasted, add the broth, garlic, peppers, and sausage to the pan.

Photobucket

Bring to a boil, cover, and allow to simmer vigorously for 5 to 6 minutes, or until the pasta is tender.

Photobucket

Once done, remove from heat and stir in basil and parmesan cheese. Enjoy.

Photobucket

I used lean turkey sausage and Smart Taste angelhair. This whole recipe ended up having 2000 calories. Divide it up however you want: 5 servings would have 400 calories each, 6 would have 334 calories. It just depends on how hungry you are.

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, pork, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Toasted Angel Hair with Sausage and Peppers

  1. Tiffany, the famous one. says:

    I need to eat this right now. I think it just may be dinner tonight. I’M FAMOUS, YO!

  2. This sounds wonderful! I love angel hair pasta. I usually make sausage and peppers with penne, but I want to try it with this now. Thanks!

  3. moneysava says:

    Angel hair pasta? Is that the US version of our spaghetti?

    • pamasaurus says:

      It’s a really thin version of spaghetti. We have regular spaghetti, thin spaghetti, and angel hair. Each is a little thinner than the previous.

      This would probably work with spaghetti; it might take a bit longer to cook.

Leave a Reply

