Banana Mock Ice Cream

So, I got my husband addicted to Pinterest. He seriously spends more time on there than I do, mostly looking at the humor and home improvement sections. Occasionally he’ll look through the popular or all sections and find recipes he’d love for me to make.

This is one of them. He memorized the recipe and told me how to do it. I don’t know what site to quote; when I google, hundreds come up. There’s no telling where this origonated. It was, apparently, on the Rachael Ray show at some point, though!

You can also put basically anything you want into this. I’ll type of the recipe with our add-ins, but you can replace the honey and Nutella with whatever you want: frozen strawberries, chocolate syrup, peanut butter, berries, ANYTHING!

Also, add as many bananas as you want! This was to make three servings, one for each of us. So, customize the crap out of this recipe. Then, come back and tell me what you did to it!

Photobucket

Banana Mock Ice Cream

3 Bananas
1 Tbsp Honey
1 Tbsp Nutella

Slice the bananas and freeze them for 2 to 3 hours, or until solid. You probably want to put a piece of wax paper under them or use a freezer bag so they don’t stick to plate like mine did.

Photobucket

Put the frozen bananas in a food processor or blender. Add the honey and Nutella (or whatever else you’d like to add!). Blend until smooth.

Photobucket

You can also apparently use a hand mixer for this. It takes longer, but will eventually yield similar results.

Photobucket

If the mixture is melted, put it back in the freezer for a bit. Enjoy.

I know it’s hard to believe, but this tasted just like banana ice cream. I would have never guessed there was no cream in it!

Photobucket

It’s been SUPER SUPER hot here the past few days, so we’ve been making this almost nightly!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Banana Mock Ice Cream

  1. Jittery Cook says:

    If I could I’d like this 10 times. I’ve frozen my bananas whole, but I’m still hopeful it will work. Thanks to your husband for being so persistent. Good find!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Hope you enjoy them!!!

      Freezing them whole should work… they’ll need a bit more time to freeze and it might take a bit more work in the processor 😉

  2. Jecca says:

    I want some of this right now! 😀

  3. This looks amazing! I’m definitely going to try it!

  4. YUM! Love anything with bananas in it – Don’t really know much about Nutella, I don’t think I’ve ever had it but peanut butter should work just fine!

    • pamasaurus says:

      Nutella is hazelnut butter with chocolate mixed in, haha. Soooo delicious! You should definitely try it if you get a chance! I eat it every morning on a bagel.

      • I will! I’ve seen it on the shelf. I guess I just never thought to try it.

      • pamasaurus says:

        I noticed, at my grocery store and walmart, they have these snack packs in the check out isles (usually the one with beef jerky, haha). It’s a serving of Nutella with some cookie sticks. They look really good, and it might be a more economical way to try it since the jars are a little expensive (but soo worth it in my opinion)!

      • My daughter told me that I HAVE had nutella. Our favorite Indian Restaurant has these little balls with something in them and covered with sesame seeds………the “something in them” I guess is Nutella. Yes, I like it! 🙂

  5. Neat idea! Thanks for sharing. I look forward to giving this a try!

  6. My friend was talking about this the other day…we didn’t know you could put Nutella and honey in though, looks yummy!

  7. Soooo good, right? I love it with nutella… but also with coconut and toasted almonds. omnom.

  8. Vicky says:

    I’ve seen this recipe before and have been wanting to try it for a while. It looks so good and I love the idea of Nutella and bananas 🙂

Leave a Reply

