Lasagna

I was surprised when I posted my recipe for spinach lasagna rolls by how many people have never made lasagna. Coffee Powered Mom featured the recipe on her blog, and the comments were pretty similar.

I guess it’s because I’ve been making this since I can remember. It’s probably one of the first things my Grandmother taught me how to make. I just don’t understand what people find so intimidating and difficult about lasagna. I think it’s actually pretty easy!

So, here’s my recipe. I tried to guess the measurements for you guys. It really doesn’t have to be exact. You can change practically anything. Leave out the meat, add some mushrooms, add diced chicken instead… seriously, change this up!

Photobucket

Lasagna

16 Ounces Turkey Sausage
16 Ounces Frozen Spinach, Thawed
30 Ounces Ricotta Cheese
2 Cloves Garlic, Minced or Pressed
1 Large Egg
1/2 Cup Parmesan Cheese
2 Cups Shredded Mozzarella, Divided
1 Tbsp Italian Seasoning
Salt and Pepper, To Taste
About 50 Ounces Spaghetti Sauce
1 Box Lasagna Noodles

Cook the turkey sausage in a skillet until no longer pink.

Photobucket

Mix together spinach (make sure all the water is squeezed out), ricotta, garlic, egg, Parmesan, 1 1/2 cup of the Mozzarella, Italian Seasoning, salt, and pepper.

Photobucket

Spray a large baking dish and spread a layer of spaghetti sauce on the bottom.

I’m probably going to get yelled at for this one, but this is how I’ve done it forever. Don’t even cook the lasagna noodles. Just make a layer at the bottom of the pan, on top of the sauce.

Photobucket

I have this HUGE lasagna pan that was my Grandmother’s. So, you’ll probably end up with more layers with a regular pan. It’ll probably also be filled all the way to the top, unlike mine.

Spread some of the cheese mixture over the noodles. How much you use depends on how many layers you want. I only made two layers, so I used half of the mixture.

Spread some of the sausage over the cheese. Again, divide it based on how many layers you want.

Pour sauce over that and repeat until you have as many layers as your pan can hold.

Photobucket

Arrange one last layer of noodles on the top, cover with all remaining sauce and the reserved 1/2 cup of Mozzarella.

Photobucket

Cover with foil and bake at 350F for about an hour, until noodles are tender. Enjoy.

Photobucket

Photobucket

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in main dish, poultry, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lasagna

  1. Wonderful recipe! You make it look so easy… I’ll try it too πŸ˜‰

  2. Vicky says:

    I’m another person who’s never made lasagna. I’ve watched it being made and I’ve shredded cheese for it… but never made it on my own. I didn’t know the noodles don’t need to be cooked. Somehow that makes it seem like a lot less work. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    • pamasaurus says:

      You’re welcome!

      Technically, I think you are supposed to cook them; most people do… but my grandmother never did, so I learned to make it this way. It has to bake a bit longer this way, but meh. I’ll take longer baking time over boiling pasta any day πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

