Cherry Coffee Cake Muffins

Hey guys!  I’m walking out the door on my way to Maine for vacation.  I think I figured out how I can post my recipes for this week.  Hopefully it all works out!  If not, don’t miss me too much.

I mentioned over at Pa-BLAM! that I missed cherry picking season by like one day. I was sad, but my friend Megan came to my rescue. She brought me a huge bag of sour cherries, enough for two recipes. So… I made a cobbler for the hubster. He loves cobbler.

Cherry Coffee Cake Muffins from Om Nomalicious

What did I do with the rest? I made some delicious muffins. Some delicious coffee cake muffins. Sour cream coffee cake muffins.

I started with This recipe from Ina Garten, added some sour cherries and made them into muffins.

The whole family agreed; these are in the top five things I’ve ever baked. Also, I ended up with 32 muffins, each with only 150 calories! They tasted like so much more than that.

Cherry Coffee Cake Muffins from Om Nomalicious

Cherry Coffee Cake Muffins

For the Batter:

1 1/2 Sticks Unsalted Butter
1 1/2 Cups Sugar
3 Eggs
1 1/2 tsp Vanilla
1 1/4 Cup Sour Cream
2 1/2 Cups Cake Flour (Not Self Rising!)
2 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
/2 tsp Salt
2 Cups Sour Cherries, Pitted

For the Struesel:

1/2 Cup Packed Brown Sugar
1/2 Cup flour
1 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
3 Tbsp Butter

Preheat the oven to 350F and line muffin tins with papers..

Cream the sugar and butter together with an electric mixer. Add the eggs, vanilla, and sour cream.

In a seperate bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Slowly add the flour mixture to the batter and beat until combined.

Cherry Coffee Cake Muffins from Om Nomalicious

Fold in the cherries.

Cherry Coffee Cake Muffins from Om Nomalicious

To make the streusel, mix the sugar, flour, cinnamon, and butter together. I used a fork to start, but ended up mushing it with my fingers.

Cherry Coffee Cake Muffins from Om Nomalicious

Fill the muffin tins 3/4 full with the batter and top with about 1/2 Tbsp of streusel.

Cherry Coffee Cake Muffins from Om Nomalicious

Bake for about 15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Let cool for at least 30 minutes and enjoy!

Cherry Coffee Cake Muffins from Om Nomalicious

These would be amazing plain or with basically any other fruit. I have plans of making them with raspberries, blueberries, and some strawberries I have in the freezer!

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

pami signature

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in bread and breakfast, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cherry Coffee Cake Muffins

  1. quilt32 says:

    I believe I’ll be trying these.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: Cherry Cobbler | omnomalicious

Leave a Reply

