Lemon Blueberry Cookies

When my daughter returned from Maine, she brought two huge bags of blueberries home with her. She had picked them herself in her Grandparents’ field. They were plump and juicy and perfect. I knew I had to bake with them.

I made some of the usual: muffins and pancakes. I also came across this recipe for lemon blueberry cookies and knew I had to attempt them.

And, attempt them I did. They were good, but they had a few issues. There wasn’t enough lemon for my taste, and something else was off. I don’t know how to explain it well, but they held their shape when baked. Every peak and dip in the cookies stayed there the whole time. Normally, cookies don’t do that.

I would usually abandon a recipe at this point. Find something else. I knew this recipe had potential, though. So, I made them again… and then made them a third time. It really only took a few small changes: less flour, more lemon, smaller white chips. Seriously, use the Hershey brand instead of Nestle. They’re smaller and work so much better in this recipe, in my opinon.

These are seriously one of my new favorite cookies. I ate way more of these than I should have, but oh well. They’re delicious.

Photobucket

Lemon Blueberry Cookies

1 Cup Butter, Room Temperature
1 Cup Sugar
2 Eggs
1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
3 Cups Cake Flour (or 2 1/2 Cups Regular Flour)
1 1/2 Cups Blueberries
Zest and Juice of 2 Lemons
2 tsp Lemon Extract
1/2 tsp Cinnamon
1 Cup White Chips

Preheat oven to 350F.

Beat the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, vanilla, cinnamon, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Mix well.

In a seperate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Slowly add dry ingredients to the wet, mixing well after each addition.

Carefully fold in the blueberries and white chips. It’s ok if some of the berries break. It’ll make the batter taste yummy.

Photobucket

Use a small scoop or spoon to scoop out the dough 2 tablespoons at a time. Place the rounded balls onto baking sheets.

Photobucket

Bake for 11-14 minutes, or until they are set and slightly golden.

Photobucket

Enjoy, just not all of them at once.

Photobucket

For a printable version of this recipe, click here!!

Photobucket

About pamasaurus

"I have learned to keep to myself how exceptional I am." ~Mason Cooley I'm a married stay at home mom living in Southern New Jersey. I have one daughter, one son, and three furbabies. I love to cook. I love to craft. I love to sew. I just.... love to create in general. I also am pretty fond of adventuring, of exploring new places. I'm shy when I first meet people, but once I'm comfortable with them, you can't shut me up. I'm crazy and silly. I have an unhealthy obsession with dinosaurs.
This entry was posted in desserts, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lemon Blueberry Cookies

  1. Lemon Blueberry is one of my favorite combos! In fact, I love my Lemon Blueberry Jam. Now I’m craving blueberry muffins and I NEVER crave that! Thos cookies look so good I swear I could eat them all right now – and you KNOW I really mean that!!

  2. These look great! I love the combination of lemon and blueberry.

Leave a Reply

